LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan


Steve and Pia

Family Information

Full Names: Steve & Pia Oreskovich

Pia's Education: Graduated from University Central of Chile with a bachelors in business  

Pia's Occupation: Finance Manager for a consumer products company

Steve's Education: Graduated from Marquette University with a business degree, accounting emphasis 

Steve's Occupation: Chief Financial Officer for a healthcare company

Years Married: 7 years

Children: Aaron, 3 years old (domestic open adoption)

Religion: Catholic

Child Care Plans: Pia plans to stay home for the first two years after placement of the child with us.  Steve will initially take three weeks off.  We also plan to use daycare at the same private school that Aaron attends.

Pets and Names: Dobby, our 4 year old dog/oldest boy

Ethnicity: Steve (Croatian and Italian), Pia is from Chile (Spanish)

Home/Neighborhood/Community: We live in a newer subdivision located in Menomonee Falls that is filled with families that have children of all ages. 

We live in the middle of the subdivision which gives us the opportunity to see most of our neighbors on a weekly basis.  Most of the families are like us in that they are very active running, biking or walking through the neighborhood.  Most nights you will find us either in a near cul-de-sac, the neighbors or at our house with the kids riding their bikes, playing on the swing set or making cool chalk drawings.  Many weekends will have parties, which we love hosting as Steve enjoys cooking and gives the kids (and us) the opportunity make s’mores in the fire pit.  

Years lived here: 7 years

Family Traditions 

Holidays:  We embrace the special opportunity that traditional holidays provide us to spend with our family and close friends. The past few years, we have traded off spending Christmas with our parents, which means we are either making snow angels or running around the beach in shorts. We also have some quirky traditions like cutting our own Christmas tree from the land we own in north central Wisconsin, an Easter egg hunt (with all the presents in plastic eggs), planting a vegetable garden each year and celebrating Chile Independence Day.  

Vacations: We go to Chile every other year to spend time with Pia’s family. We also enjoy long weekends outdoors at our cabin in north central Wisconsin and love going to the Caribbean.

Family Gatherings: We often host dinners at our home with extended family and friends. We are a bicultural/bilingual family and central to all Latino families is good food, good music and good company. We have always celebrated Aaron’s birthday (as well as several other times per year) with his birth family as we believe this is an important event for all of us to share.

Family Shutterfly Photo Album

Family Favorites 





Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)

Paula (Isabel Allende)





Steak and sushi

Anything Steve cooks

TV Show: 

Diners, Drive-ins & Dives and Gold Rush

Criminal Minds and  Law & Order


Bow hunting, cooking, gardening, travel and spending time outdoors with friends and family

Running, reading, baking and spending time with the family here and in Chile





Football, baseball, basketball and anything adventurous






Seeing the world (and joys upon learning new things) through the eyes of a child

Volunteering for children-related causes


Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Conceived through incest
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)

Ethnicity: Caucasian/Asian/Hispanic/Native American

Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact/Letter and Photos/In-Person Visits

Open to states other than Wisconsin

Dear new friends:

To us you are much more than expecting parent(s) as we hope, with your permission, to become good friends over the years.  But why, you ask, might we be friends?  Great question!  Let’s start with a little information about us…

We are Steve and Pia. We have a son, Aaron, and a dog (or our older son), Dobby. We enjoy the outdoors, including hiking, traveling and spending time at our cabin in north central Wisconsin. We also relish spending time with family and friends, usually involving a meal (friends are the best to try new recipes with).  

We believe it is often the simple things in life that make the difference.  A good example of this is that each morning we are together, Steve wakes Pia up with a short song. It goes like this (a bit off key too):  Up, up in the morning girl and the d-jay plays that song, whatcha gonna do, whatcha gonna do?  Up, up in the morning girl as Aaron, Dobby & I love you!  Also, not being too serious, constant communication and sharing duties are the keys to our family.  As such, we like to sing, dance and laugh (you should hear Aaron sing “Let It Go”, his dance moves are pretty good too), and we don’t believe in going to bed mad. Like all parents, we want to spoil our children and give them every opportunity as they grow up. That said, we will ensure to teach them the values we believe in such as respect for others, generosity, honesty and tolerance. 

We are also a bilingual, multicultural family.  Pia was born in Chile and moved to the U.S. 15 years ago.  Her family still lives in Chile and we visit each year. We enjoy such trips and take every advantage to experience different parts of Chile. 

We feel blessed to be surrounded by the love of our family and close friends.  We have numerous nieces, nephews and godchildren (not to mention all the children of our friends) we delight in playing with. But our greatest joy comes from parenting Aaron, who reminds us daily of the joy that comes from the curiosity of youth as he learns new things (in two languages nonetheless).  We also cherish the open adoption we have with Aaron’s birth mother and her family. We believe in the benefits that come from an open adoption and treasure the time we spend with them.

That said, our life is far from perfect, but we believe it is our imperfections that set us apart, make us who we are and often open new doors.  Our inability to have biological children hopefully leads us to you. Upon placement, Pia plans to stay at home and Steve will take as much time off as allowed. 

While we understand that one page is not enough to cover all the questions you may have about us (don’t worry, we have questions for you too), we can’t wait to meet you!

Steve and Pia


Adoption Social Worker from LSS: Contact: Carrie Pedersen; (414) 304-6977 or email:

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan