LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Ryan and Stephanie

Family Information

Full Names: Ryan and Stephanie

Number of Years Married: 12

Number of Children age(s): Logan, age 7, adopted

Religion: Lutheran (Missouri Synod)

Child Care Plans: Stephanie will take off 12 weeks off at the time of placement and Ryan will take at least 1 week off.  Stephanie will work part-time.  The baby will go to the same state of Wisconsin licensed childcare center that Logan went to.

Pets and Names: Willard (Beagle/Lab mix); Milo (Boxer); Bailey (cat); Gus (cat)

Ethnicity: Ryan (Bohemian, German); Stephanie (Bohemian, Irish, German); Logan (Colombian)

City Type: Small City

Years lived here: All our lives

Describe the community/Neighborhood: We live in a 3 bedroom 2 bath home on a dead-end street that outskirts of town in west central Wisconsin. We have lived in our current home for 8 years. The area behind our house is wooded, so there are a lot of deer, turkeys, squirrels and rabbits that visit us.  Our neighborhood has a lot of children and all of the neighbors are very friendly.  One of our neighbors puts on an Easter Egg Hunt each year for all of the children in the neighborhood.

Holidays: We always spend our holidays with our families that include our parents, siblings and our 11 nieces and nephews.  Christmas is always a favorite holiday at our house.  We have traditions that include showing the spirit of giving by buying Christmas presents for a child at Logan's school that is in need, and going to cut down our own Christmas Tree at the tree farm.  Other holidays are spent playing board games, visiting, going sliding or just being together.  Birthdays are always a really big deal…everyone should be treated “extra special” at least one day a year!

Vacations: We try to take many camping trips each summer as well at least a few mini-vacations to explore the cities and State Parks and water parks that are near us. We also enjoy traveling to places like Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Las Vegas, San Diego and of course, Disney Land.

Family Gatherings: Family gatherings with Ryan’s side of the family is always busy and bustling with excitement and lots of kids!  Ryan has one brother and he and his wife have 9 kids, five of which are adopted! Family time with them is always fun, and Logan loves to go see his cousins!  We enjoy going to the family cabin in Northern, WI where we can go fishing, snowmobiling and sledding on the big hill!

Family gatherings with Stephanie’s side of the family is a little more quiet.  Stephanie has one brother.  Her brother and his wife recently had a baby, which keeps family gatherings exciting.  When spending time with Stephanie’s family we are often grilling out or swimming in Stephanie’s mom’s pool.

Others: Each year we celebrate our family’s anniversary by looking at pictures from Logan’s Adoption Day, and then going to do something special as a family. Last summer we hosted a student from Spain for 3 weeks, it was a lot of fun, and a great learning experience for our family!

Family Favorites

 

  Adoptive Mother Adoptive Father
Book:

My Sister’s Keeper

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Color: Purple Green
Food:

Grilled Shrimp

Fried Chicken

TV Show:

Parenthood

Revolution

Hobby:

Reading

Snowmobiling

Animal:

Sea Lion

Toads

Game:

Scrabble

Bean Bag Toss

Season: Fall Fall

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)

Ethnicity:  Open to any child

Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact

Are you open to states other than Wisconsin? Yes.

Birth Parent Letter

Dear Birth Parents:

We are a loving family of three praying for a special little person who will make our family complete. Thank you for taking the time to read our letter, and for your strength and courage to consider an adoption plan for your baby.

Spending time outdoors, camping, fishing, geocaching or feeding the ducks at a local park after a picnic is where you will likely find us when the weather is nice.  We are an active family that loves to explore places near and far.

Ryan is 34, and loves the outdoors.  Ryan works as a CNC Programmer /Manufacturing Engineer.  Although he works hard, he makes sure that he takes time to do the thing he enjoys such as spending time on our family adventures as well as snowmobiling and hunting.

Stephanie is 32, and is an animal lover.  Stephanie loves working as a part-time instructor at our local technical college and as a project coordinator.  She enjoys camping, spending time with our family and four pets, working in the flower garden and going to the zoo.

Logan is 7,and loves Star Wars and Legos.  Logan is just finishing-up second grade.  He loves to play soccer and enjoys our family camping trips.  He is really looking forward to becoming a big brother!

We have been married for 12 years, and we became a family of three in 2006.  We feel blessed that adoption made our family possible.  Being a family of four is something we have always wished for.   We feel that we have a lot of love and many adventures to share with a new little one.

Open adoption offers an incredible opportunity to build a relationship for life.  We would love to get to know you and welcome you into our lives and our family if that is something you choose.

Thank you for considering us as potential adoptive parents for your baby.  We would love the opportunity to meet you, and share more about our family and the life we believe we could offer your child.

We wish you strength and courage with this difficult decision no matter what you decide.

Best Wishes,
Ryan and Stephanie

 

For more information, contact Nikki at Phone: 715-552-2464 or email: Nikki.Brooks@lsswis.org

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top