LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Ryan and Nicole

 

For more information, contact their LSS adoption social worker, Kristin Roovers at kristin.roovers@lsswis.org.

Family Information

Ryan and Nicole 

Years Married: 8 years

Children: None

Religion: Lutheran (Ryan) & Presbyterian (Nicole)

Child Care Plans: Nicole will be home for 12 weeks, and Ryan will take off 4+ weeks once placed. When we go back to work we will find a child care center or in-home care while we are at work during the weekday.

Pets and Names: Sunny – Shih Tzu/Yorkie (dog) & Beau Bernese Mountain Dog (dog), fresh water fish tank full of fish

Ethnicity: Caucasian

 

Education/Occupations

Ryan, 38 years old

Education: Bachelor of Arts Psychology and Human Development

Occupation: Probation and Parole Agent


Nicole, 37 years old

Education: Masters of Arts in Counseling – Emphasis Higher Education

Occupation: Academic Advisor

 

Home/Neighborhood/Community

City Type:  Suburb

Years lived here: 8 years

Describe the community/Neighborhood Lots of trees, very family friendly, lots of children, close to parks and walking trails

Other:  We have a very large fenced in backyard that is perfect for running around and playing.

 

Family Traditions 

Holidays: It is important for us to celebrate holidays. We love to dress up for Halloween, color Easter Eggs, hang Christmas stockings, and watch fire work displays.

Christmas time is our favorite holiday. When Nicky was little her family ever year would go with family friends to pick out and cut down their Christmas tree. We continue this tradition and every year after thanksgiving we go with our friends and their families to cut down our own Christmas tree.  We spend Christmas Eve evening with Ryan’s family playing Just Dance with our nephews. Christmas morning we spend with Nicole’s family, where we wake up to stuffed Christmas stockings and take our yearly picture under the Christmas tree and wear goofy santa hats.

Thanksgiving are spent with both Ryan’s family eating a traditional Thanksgiving afternoon dinner and with Nicky’s family having a little more untraditional crab or lobster dinner.

Vacations: We like to travel south every winter to get a little sun and play in the ocean. Sometimes we go on a cruise and sometimes we just decide to explore a warm city. In the summer we take advantage of living so close to lakes and rivers, where we like to spend our summers exploring Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

Family Gatherings: We have yearly family weekend gatherings to Door County, WI , where we go on wine tastings, go out to dinner and play in the pool and the hot tub. During the summer especially we like to spend a lot of weekends at Nicky’s parents’ house and enjoy the river they live on by boating, jet skiing, playing dice and board games on the deck.

Others: Friends play a huge part of our lives and we are usually on the go, either heading to meet up with family or to hang out with our friends.  Our friends are like extended family to us and we are lucky to spend weekends with them for pool parties, bon fires, game nights, watching sporting events or just gathering for a barbeque or dinner. We love spending time with them and their children and can’t wait for a child that we can share these fun experiences with.

Every year on Nicky’s birthday Ryan brings her caramel apples.

 

Family Favorites 

 

Ryan

Nicole

Book: 

Mice of Men

Hunger Games

Color: 

Blue

Green

Food: 

Steak

French Fries

TV Show: 

Game of Thrones

Gilmore Girls

Hobby: 

Golfing

Reading

Animal: 

Dog

Dog

Game: 

Mario Kart

Farkle (Dice Game)

Season: 

Fall

Fall

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse  
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Ethnicity:  Caucasian/Black/Asian/Hispanic/Native American/Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact/Letter and Photos/In-Person Visits
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin? No

 

Birthparent Letter 

Hello and thank you for taking a moment to learn more about us.

We always knew that we wanted to have a family, but because of Ryan’s childhood cancer we knew that we were going to start our family through adoption. We are excited about the opportunity to meet the birth family who choses us for their child and would very much like to create an open, ongoing relationship through visits, photos, and letters.

A little bit about us. We met in college, became friends, fell in love and got married.  We like to laugh, be goofy, joke with each other and surround ourselves with friends and family. We also have two dogs that are a big part of our everyday lives.  We both love animals and are happy to share our home with pets.

Traveling is also important to us. We love to vacation and see new places. Warm weather vacations by the ocean are our favorite. We spend most weekends with friends and family enjoying board game nights, pool parties, grill outs or just hanging out. Going to the movies is one way we love to treat ourselves, but we also have a lot of movie nights at home with the dogs and some popcorn.

Nicky loves animals, putting her dogs in bowties, sushi, farmers market, movies, crafting, swimming, walks, her pups, cooking yummy vegetarian dinners and board games.

Ryan loves golf, sushi, bowling, movies, walks, boating, football, baseball, grill outs and festivals.

Spending time with family is also very important to us. We have our nieces and or nephews over for sleepovers, have yearly holiday traditions, and love celebrating birthdays. We also love to attend sporting events, every year we go to Brewer and Packer games. During the summer we spend a lot of time in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan enjoying the river and the Green Bay off of Lake Michigan.

We can’t wait until the day that we can share our love of life with our child.

Thank you again for taking a moment to get to know us a little better.

Nicky & Ryan

 

For more information, contact their LSS adoption social worker, Kristin Roovers at kristin.roovers@lsswis.org.

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top