LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Greg and Natasha

Family Information

Full Names: Natasha and Greg


Natasha 

Education: B.A. in Politics and Latin American Studies, M.A. in Public Policy, and Ph.D. in Political Science

Occupation: Professor

Greg

Education: B.A. in Creative Writing, M.A. in American Studies, and Ph.D. in American Studies

Occupation: Professor


Married: 10 years

Children: One biological child, Nina, who is 4

Religion, Natasha: Raised Catholic, committed to moral childrearing

Religion, Greg: Raised Christian, now a Humanist, committed to moral childrearing

Child Care Plans: We each plan to take 12 weeks of leave, and then the baby will attend a state- and NAEYC-accredited childcare center near our work.

Pets: None

Ethnicity, Natasha: Brazilian of Japanese and Portuguese descent

Ethnicity, Greg: Multiracial, African-American and Chinese American

Home/Neighborhood/Community

City Type: Metro

Years lived here: 9

Our neighborhood is close to everything, including parks, schools, grocery stores, and restaurants. It really feels like a small town. The three blocks closest to us are very diverse, with an association that plans gatherings throughout the year. Many of these are geared towards the kids, who are of all ages. The families know each other well, and we always help each other out.

Other: Lake Michigan is within walking distance, but we also go to festivals, fire up the grill, or just kick through the snow.

Family Traditions

Holidays: Some of our favorite holiday traditions include: Picking a Christmas tree, exchanging gifts, cooking Thanksgiving from scratch, carving pumpkins, and hosting the grandparents.

Vacations: Our parents traveled with us from an early age, and we thank them for those experiences. We have been fortunate to visit many countries together, including: Brazil, Germany, Holland, Costa Rica, Mexico, Argentina, and the Czech Republic. We’ve enjoyed traveling with Nina and look forward to more adventures as a family of four. 

Family Gatherings: Greg’s mom lives in Baltimore; Natasha’s parents live in New York City; and her brother, sister-in-law, and nieces live in Tucson. We host Thanksgiving and Christmas, and we see them other times of the year. Between visits, we use Skype to keep in touch.

Others: We appreciate all four seasons, celebrating as many holidays as we can, from St. Patrick’s, to July 4th, to Halloween. But we don’t need official dates to let loose. Along with birthdays, accomplishments, and anniversaries, we delight in the simple things.

 

Family Favorites

 

Adoptive Mother

Adoptive Father

Book: 

The Outlander series, by Diana Gabaldon

The Sun Also Rises, by Ernest Hemingway

Color: 

Purple

Any that match khakis

Food: 

For comfort, cheeseburgers. When dining out, sushi.

Five Guys bacon cheeseburger, or sushi

TV Show: 

Grey’s Anatomy

Mad Men

Movie:

The Bourne Identity

Star Wars

Musical Group:

Indigo Girls

The Rolling Stones

Hobby: 

Travel, reading, movies

Exploring music, iPhone photography, popular culture

Season: 

Fall

Winter

Sport:

World Cup soccer

Football (Green Bay Packers, University of Texas Longhorns)

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)
  • Ethnicity: Caucasian/Black /Asian/Hispanic/Native American/Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin
     

Dear Birth Parent:

Hi, we’re Greg, Natasha, and Nina (age 4). We respect the difficult decisions you are making and wish you the very best in your adoption journey. Thanks for taking the time to learn about our family.

Adoption has always been part of our family’s story. Greg was adopted at three months old. Although he has not met his birthparents, he has always felt love for them. Greg’s positive experience has always attracted us to this path. When doctors told us we would have difficulty conceiving again, we knew this was the right way to complete our family.

Being parents is the highlight of our lives and we enjoy all the discovery that comes with it. Our daughter Nina is sweet, funny, and loving. We know she will make a terrific older sister.

We live in southeast Wisconsin and we’ve been together sixteen years (married for ten). We both enjoy our work as professors at a university. On weekends, our activities are kid-oriented, with visits to museums, music classes, and trips to parks. We also really like trying new things, such as traveling and trying new foods. We have visited many countries together, including Brazil, Germany, and Mexico.

As parents, we will do our best to give your child every opportunity to become healthy, loving, and happy. We’ll love your child unconditionally, celebrate joyful moments, and tackle any challenges together as a team. We have wonderful family who are eager to welcome another grandchild, cousin, or niece/nephew. We will have honest conversations about your child’s background so he or she will have a positive sense of identity. We welcome open adoption and will respect your wishes about future contact. Most importantly, we will always convey how much your child is loved by us and by the parents who brought them into the world.

For more information, contact Carrie at 414-539-5425 or email: Carrie.Pedersen@lsswis.org

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top