LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Craig and Wendy

 

 

Family Information

Full Names: Craig and Wendy Nehring 

Craig, 39

Occupation: Lutheran Pastor

Education: BS-History (UW-Superior); Masters of Divinity (Luther Seminary)

Wendy, 39 

Education: BA-Accounting (Dakota Wesleyan University)

Occupation: Payroll Supervisor at manufacturing company

Number of Years Married: 15

Number of Children: None

Religion: Lutheran

Child Care plans: Wendy will take off 6-8 weeks. Craig will take care of the child at home & work after that, with option to day care on occasions, for first couple of years. Then to day care as needed.

Pets and Names: Lisa (cat)-16 years; Maggie (dog)-13 years; Molly (cat) 6 months

Ethnicity: Craig: German, English | Wendy: English

Home/Neighborhood/Community Type: Rural, small town

Years lived here: 5 years

Describe the community: We live in a small town, deeply rooted in farming. The actual town is around 200 people, most of whom have lived here for generations. It is a very quiet town, with most people “in bed by 10 pm.” It is a very family-oriented community, as most of the people were raised here and raised their families and very much desire that families continue to make it their homes. Most of our shopping and entertainment comes from a larger town about 10 miles from our home and then around 30 miles away. We are about an hour from major cities.

Family Traditions

Holidays: Our holiday traditions have been shaped by both Craig’s work and our families. Craig most often “works” on holiday’s because of the church, so we generally will spend the actual day at the church and afterward together at the home exchanging gifts and watching our two favorite Christmas movies: National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation and A Christmas Story. We love to decorate the house together and drink lots of egg nog. We are quick to head to family as soon as we can. Generally, we spend most holidays visiting Craig’s family since we all live in Wisconsin. We do, though, seek to visit Wendy’s family as much as we can.

Vacations: We have tried to take a “major” vacation at least every other year. Often, our larger vacations try to take in visiting Wendy’s family in South Dakota, so most of our travels have ben out west. Our future plans are to see Yellowstone, the Northeast, Canada and Texas (for the barbeque!). If we are not taking a major trip for the year, we will take weekend trips to go to events or places in Wisconsin, Duluth, MN, or the UP of Michigan. Most often, though, we will take time to just spend the day at a place and head home for the night.

Family Gatherings: Both families have reunions regularly. Wendy’s family has tried to have one in South Dakota every year and we have made most of them in the time we’ve been married. Craig’s family has one every other year and we have attended that most times as well. Outside of that, we will just go to Craig’s parents for the day and visit.

Family Favorites

 

Adoptive Mother

Adoptive Father

Book:

Jemima J

Rabble in Arms

Color:

Green

Dark Blue

Food:

Buttered Popcorn

Roast Turkey

TV Show:

Big Bang Theory

King of the Hill

Hobby:

Playing cards and games

Skating, curling, rugby

Animal:

Dolphin

Wolf

Game:

Canasta

Euchre

Season:

Fall

Winter

Other: Sport

Hockey, curling

Hockey, rugby

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues we are open to discussing:

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Limited or no information on birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state laws)

Ethnicity: Open to any child

Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact

Are you open to states other than Wisconsin

Birthparent Letter

Hello! We would like to thank you for looking at our profile, and we would love to get to know you! A bit of introduction: our names are Craig and Wendy, and we have been married for over 15 years. Our current “family” exists of Maggie, our dog and Lisa and Molly, our two cats. Craig is a Lutheran pastor and Wendy works in payroll for a manufacturing company. We have lived where we currently are for 5 years, as Craig serves 2 churches here. Our family background involves many miles-as Craig was born and raised in Western Wisconsin, but Wendy finds her history coming from South Dakota and Seattle, Washington. During the year, you will find us involved in area activities, playing cards with friends (Wendy), ice skating, watching and playing hockey and rugby (Craig). One of the highlights of our year is our involvement in a curling league!

Family is an important part of our lives and that is why we are praying that we will soon have a child to place into it. After many years of hoping for a child of our own, we came to see that we were being given a chance to be part of something so much more. This is why we feel so honored to be part of the adoption process-that we have been given the opportunity to part of, not only the life of a child, but yours as well!

For more information, contact: Kristin Roovers at Kristin.roovers@lsswis.org.

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top