LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Cory and Shannon

For more information, contact Laura at Phone: (608) 270-6635 or email: Laura.Nedeau-owen@lsswis.org.

Family Information

Full Names: Cory and Shannon

Number of Years Married: 11

Number of Children age(s): 0

Religion: Lutheran

Child Care Plans: Cory will take 2 weeks off work and Shannon will take off work and work from home for 3 months and then the child will go to daycare. Shannon works from home one day per week and both of us have flexible jobs so we will be able to easily change our schedules to adapt to having a child in our lives.

Pets and Names: Lennie (Australian cattle dog mix)

Ethnicity: Cory: Irish, Norwegian; Shannon: Irish, German, French Canadian

City Type: Suburb

Years lived here: 6

Community/Neighborhood: We live in a small town of less than 5,000 people in a very nice neighborhood close to schools, parks and our community pool. It’s a very quiet small town, with plenty of outdoor activities to enjoy. We are also very close to larger cities which allows for weekend trips and adventures, but always returning to the quiet confines of our small, tight knit neighborhood.

Holidays: Shannon’s birthday is on Halloween. Every year our families all dress up and go out, having a great time. We make time with each of our families on Christmas and Thanksgiving, often traveling to both, but we have also hosted Christmas and Thanksgiving at our house in the past.

Vacations: We love to travel and have gone to many amazing places. One of our first trips was to South Dakota. Shannon’s family used to camp all the time, but Cory’s family never did. This trip was the first time the two of us camped together and it was wonderful. We love to just pack up the car and the dog and head out to a destination. Recently, we took a 51 hour road trip to St. Joseph, Missouri just for the adventure.

Family: Family gatherings are one thing we love, and want to make sure we make more time for them once we adopt. We have been very fortunate to see and experience all of our nieces growing up over the years and want them to share in that with us. It’s not uncommon for Cory’s mom to come down and spend many days in a row with us, or Shannon’s family to just pop in for a night. We are the same way. We’ll just take a day and go to see Shannon’s family in Rhinelander or Cory’s family in Eau Claire. We love spending time with all members of our families from our parents to our cousins.

Other: Visit our website for more pictures.  

Family Favorites

  Adoptive Mother Adoptive Father
Book:

My Sister’s Keeper

Mothman Prophecies

Color: Brown Green and Gold
Food: Chinese Anything from the grill
TV Show: Psych American Pickers
Hobby:

Community Theatre

Writing/Film

Animal: Camel Dog
Movie:

Wizard of Oz

Raiders of the Lost Ark

Season: Summer Autumn
Band:

Bon Jovi

Motley Crue

 


Adoption Preferences

Ethnicity: Caucasian

Ongoing contact - Open Adoption: Open to all forms of contact

We are Open to Discussing: Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy, Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Clinical depression in birthparents, Mental health issues in birthparents, Developmental disabilities in birthparents, Conceived through forced intercourse, Conceived through incest, Limited or no information about birthfather

Location of Birth parents: We are open to a birth parent in Wisconsin and other states.


Dear Birth Parent and Child,

We would like to thank you for choosing open adoption for your child. It is a very brave and selfless decision to make, a decision that can only be made out of love.

We are Cory and Shannon. We are very close to both of our families and see them as often as we can. We enjoy traveling and camping with Shannon’s family (as Shannon’s parents just bought a gorgeous new camper that sure beats a tent!) and spending time with Cory’s family including our two nieces, Erin and Emily. We were very thrilled to welcome Camryn into the family just over 2 and a half years ago and we recently welcomed her baby brother, Maddox. They are Shannon’s sister’s children.

We are fun and adventurous people and love to travel. For us, life has always been about the journey, not the destination. It’s important to stop and look around and appreciate the beauty of the things around you. Sometimes life moves a little too fast, and that’s why we like to go on road trips, as it allows us to see things we have never seen before and may never see again.

Shannon loves to perform in plays with our community theatre group and Cory writes films and works with video and editing. Both are passions for each of us and we fully support each other in our endeavors. Our parents always let us explore who we are and what we love, never telling us we couldn’t or shouldn’t try things that interested us. We certainly feel that is important and will continue nurturing the experiences and passions of all members of our family.

The community we live in is small and safe, with a great school district. We live in a split level home with a large yard and are a few blocks from a park and our community pool. We live in a great neighborhood with friendly neighbors.

We are very excited to have you as a part of our family and cannot wait to meet you, get to know you and start a new chapter of memories with you.

Cory and Shannon

To learn more about Cory and Shannon, visit their picture website. 

 

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top