LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Betty & Thomas

Ages:
Betty: 38 Years Old
Thomas: 36 Years Old

Years Married:
11 years

Children:
None

Pets and Names:
Cat – Guster, and Cat – Ember.  We also have several freshwater fish.

Religion:
Catholic

Ethnicity:
Betty is German & Czech; Tom is Irish, German, Slovenian

Connect with Family

For more information, contact adoption social worker Brittany Bembnister at: 608-787-7540 or by email at Brittany.Bembnister@lsswis.org

Dear Birthparents,

Thank you for considering us in your adoption plan.  Creating one takes courage and love.  We would love for you to consider us to be part of your plan.

We are grateful to spend time with our family.  Each year we spend a week with both our parents and siblings and their families on a lake in northern Wisconsin.  We spend the week fishing, boating, and enjoying each other’s company.  We are close to our family, we visit to celebrate holidays, milestones for our nieces and nephews, and to help when needed.  Betty’s father runs the family farm he grew up on.  We visit them there and help out with projects.

We were married in 2006.  All of our sisters were Betty’s bridesmaids and a few of our friends and Tom’s cousins were our groomsmen.  After marriage, our hope was to enjoy being married, settle into our new lives together, and have a couple of children.  11 years later we have found we are unable to have children.  We had hoped and prayed, but our prayers have not yet been answered.  

When we are relaxing at home it is often with our two furry children.  We adopted our first cat Guster because he was bouncing off the walls of the kennel he was in and immediately started playing with Tom’s hand when being petted.   We realized Guster needed a play mate after we had been stalked and attacked on a daily basis.  We adopted Ember a few months later from the Humane Society. Betty was petting the many cats at the Humane Society and Ember looked up saw Betty and snuggled into her arms, she wanted to come home with us.

 We chose adoption because we are unable to have children of our own.  After a lot of research on fertility treatments and adoption; we felt adoption was the only choice for us to have the opportunity to share our love with a child. 

Open adoption is something we knew very little about in the beginning of our research.  We welcome the opportunity to get to know you and work with you to make sure you can be a part of our child’s life.  We are looking forward to meeting with you to expand our family.  

Betty & Thomas

Learn More About Betty & Thomas

Open All
 Child Care Plans

After our child is born Betty will take up to twelve weeks of leave depending on our comfort level and child care availability, and Tom will take off a couple weeks.  Currently we work approximately forty-five hours a week with an 8 to 9 hour work day.  Our child will be in daycare during daytime hours while we are at work.  We will spend the rest of the week with our child.  We may ask relatives or a babysitter to care for our child on special occasions.
 

 Education & Occupations

Betty

Education:
B.S. Mechanical Engineering

Occupation:
Manufacturing Engineer

Stephanie

Education:
M.S. Engineering

Occupation:
Industrial Engineer

 Family Traditions

Holidays:
We typically try and spend the holidays with our families.  Some of the larger gatherings are typically Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter.  Thanksgiving we spend a long fun weekend with one of our siblings and as many of our nieces and nephews that can visit. We have a big meal along with football, shopping, and other fun and games with the kids. 

Christmas is spent between both of our parents.  All of our siblings try and come home for Christmas.  Often we get the chance to see much of our extended family who we do not get to see regularly. 

Easter is a chance for us to visit the family farm and see other family from that portion of the state.  There is all sorts of fun on the farm, walking in the fields, flying kites, and digging up horseradish. 

Vacations:
We don’t get out much doing wild vacations to exotic places.  But we enjoy some short weekend trips around the neighboring states.    Our big vacation is the weeklong fishing trip we go at a resort on a lake somewhere in northern Wisconsin.  In addition to fishing, we enjoy various watersports, and other activities the area has to offer.  Both of our families come along with the kids.  

Family Gatherings:
Aside from at the lake and holidays our family frequently gathers for events such as birthdays, first communions, and other milestones.  We like to have family over during the summer.  We enjoy canoeing on the river or just for a barbeque.

Other:
We enjoy spending time with our friends. We plan hiking adventures at local parks with our friends. Occasionally we make impromptu dinner plans with them, or we visit each other’s homes for dinner, games and socializing.

 Family Favorites
  Betty Tom
Book John Jake’s North and South Trilogy Anything by Michael Crichton
Color Green or Blue Green or Blue
Food Indian Food Lasagna, anything Italian
TV Show Gilmore Girls Since Mythbusters has ended, The Big Bang Theory
Hobby Fishing, Crocheting Canoeing, fishing and woodworking
Animal Cat and Penguins Anything cute and furry
Game Apple to Apples Mario Kart
Season Autumn Fall
Sports Team Green Bay Packers Green Bay Packers
 Home & Community

City Type:
Rural Suburb

Years lived here:
11 years

Describe the community/Neighborhood:
We live in a nice home in a small neighborhood in the country.  We are situated between the Mississippi River and the surrounding bluffs.  We have a beautiful view of the river valley.  It is a relatively quiet neighborhood, many of our neighbors have children who are often out playing. There is a community park within short driving distance as well as several parks with hiking and biking trails.

 Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Conceived through incest
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law) 

Open Adoption:

  • Ethnicity: Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin? Possibly/depends on the situation

For more information, contact adoption social worker Brittany Bembnister at608-787-7540 or by email at brittany.bembnister@lsswis.org

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-246-2300

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top