LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Tyler and Deidre

 

For more information, contact their LSS adoption social worker, Kristin Roovers at kristin.roovers@lsswis.org.

Family Information

Tyler Dewitt Raulin and Deidre Anne Raulin

Married: 10 years

Children: none

Religion: Christian

Child Care Plans: After the child comes home, Deidre plans to take 12 weeks off.  Tyler will use his 4 weeks of vacation during that time.  We plan to use day care after this initial period.  We have gotten recommendations from friends and interviewed a couple of day cares and are very happy with two of them.  We have flex hours at work so we plan to stagger our start and end times to spend more time with the baby.

Pets and Names: Reggie - Pembroke Welsh Corgi

Ethnicity: Ty is English/German/Scandinavian/Irish, and Deidre is Irish/Scottish/German/Scandinavian.

 

Education/Occupations

Tyler, 36 years old

Education: Bachelor of Science-Computer Science, St. Norbert College

Occupation: IT Manager


Deidre, 34 years

Education:  Bachelor of Arts-Psychology, St. Norbert College. Master of Science of Organizational Development-Silver Lake College

Occupation: Product Analyst

 

Home/Neighborhood/Community

City Type:  Metro/Suburb

Years lived here: 10

Describe the community/neighborhood: We live in a medium-sized city right on Lake Michigan.  We are halfway between Milwaukee and Green Bay. Our community has great schools and parks along with fun activities on the lake.

 

 

Family Traditions 

Holidays:  We love to celebrate and decorate for holidays in our household!  Thanksgiving is Ty’s favorite holiday because he loves the family, food, and football.  His mom is a really good cook so we go to his parents’ house for Thanksgiving at noon.  Everyone’s favorite is the stuffing, and Ty learned how to make it this year.  Christmas is Deidre’s favorite holiday because of her great childhood memories. She loves to decorate the house.  Her favorite is the elf on the shelf.  We visit both sets of parents and go to church and open stockings on Christmas Eve followed by breakfast and presents on Christmas morning. For Easter, we go to church and get together with both sides of the family for a brunch. We cannot wait to add an Easter egg hunt and baskets to the mix once a little one comes along!

Vacations: We really like to travel.  Many of our siblings live in other states (Colorado, North Carolina, Virginia, and Georgia), so we try to make it a point to visit.  Sometimes we’ll plan a week and go somewhere far away.  Other times, we’ll just drive a couple hours for an extended weekend.  Some of the places we’ve visited are Boston, Memphis, Los Angeles, San Diego, Miami, and the Dominican Republic.  We like to mix it up and get some relaxation time along with visiting historical sites or excursions on our vacations. We look forward to taking a child to Disney World someday!

Family Gatherings: Every year Tyler’s family hosts a Family Campout on his uncle’s land in rural Wisconsin.  Since he owns a camper dealership, each family gets their own camper. We ride four wheelers, cook, eat a ton of food (including a shrimp boil and pudgy pies).  We enjoy playing cards and yard games and sitting by the fire.  This is for sure Reggie’s favorite weekend of the year.  We also get to see our parents on regular basis as they come to our house often to visit. We take them to our favorite restaurants and invite them to neighborhood gatherings.  Deidre’s sister only lives in an hour away so we also get to see her and her husband often. We have started a new tradition of getting together with Deidre’s family on New Years to cook and play games.

Others: We have a very close neighborhood, particularly two families we consider our Sheboygan Family. We have started a Thanksgiving in summer tradition with them (where Tyler will get to showcase his new stuffing skills).  We often attend the kids’ sporting events. They are a lot like our nieces.  We also really enjoy spending time with our neighbor’s grandchildren.

 

Family Favorites 

 

Deidre

Tyler

Book: 

The One and Only by Emily Giffin

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

Color: 

Purple or Green

Black

Food: 

Pizza

Mac and Cheese

TV Show: 

Breaking Bad

Rules of Engagement

Hobby: 

Reading, biking, crafting, yoga, cooking

Golf, but I try to take up a new hobby every summer.  Last summer was cooking.

Animal: 

Dog

Our Dog, Reggie

Game: 

Scattegories

Football

Season: 

Fall

Fall

Other: 

Deidre is an animal lover!  She also enjoys spending time with her “little sister” through Big Brothers and Big Sisters.

Ty loves the Packers!  He and Deidre are season ticket holders so they get to enjoy a lot of games.

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Conceived through incest
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)
  • Ethnicity: Caucasian/Black/Asian/Hispanic/Native American/Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact/Letter and Photos/In-Person Visits

 

Birthparent Letter

Dear Birthparent,

You may have already looked through a lot of online adoption profiles. We met so many great people at our adoption classes that we can honestly say, there are no wrong choices. So if everyone you will read about would be great parents, why would anyone choose us over anyone else?  All we can say is that you need to read over everyone’s profile and follow your heart.  We will give you a little more information about us so you can see if we are the family for you.

We met 14 years ago in college. Now we both work at the same insurance company.  Ty is a manager of IT.  He has many young people on his team that are fresh out of college and really enjoys the opportunity to teach and develop his team members as they begin their careers.  Deidre works as a Product Analyst in the Marketing Department. She loves her job because of the variety of projects and her co-workers.  

We have been blessed with a loving marriage, fun neighborhood, a supportive family, great friends, a comfortable home, good incomes, and our adorable Welsh Corgi, Reggie.  We always knew we wanted to raise children and we expected that we would be parents, already, at this point in our lives.  Unfortunately, we have been unsuccessful in our efforts.  We love our nephews and our friends’ children so much and we know we would love your child as much as we would love any child that we had biologically.

Deidre has always been an amazingly caring and sensitive person.  This extends beyond humans into the animal kingdom.  She loves all animals, but especially dogs.  There is never a time that we walk past another dog on the street that she doesn’t want to stop, pet the dog, and shower it with love.  Ty’s biggest passion has always been sports.  He has loved it as a way to connect with his family.  Most of the discussions are not about winning and losing.  They are about the bigger lessons that come from sports. We will be caring and involved parents someday. We can’t wait to bake class treats, chaperone trips, and coach sporting teams.

Know that if you choose us, your child will always be loved… Not just by us, but by an entire family, extended family, and adopted family (friends) that are looking forward to us adopting a child. Your child will also know how much you loved him or her.  We hope that you will consider us to be part of your family and your child’s family.

With love, Deidre, Tyler, and Reggie

 

 

For more information, contact their LSS adoption social worker, Kristin Roovers at kristin.roovers@lsswis.org.

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top