LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan


Paul and Tami


Family Information

Full Names: Paul and Tami

Paul's Education: MBA from Hamline University; Bachelor of Science from University of Wisconsin - LaCrosse (majors in Public Administration, Biology)

Paul's Occupation: Sales manager for a multi-national corporation

Tami's Education: Bachelor of Arts from University of Wisconsin - Madison (majors in Journalism, Political Science, International Relations, Chinese, East Asian Studies)

Tami's Occupation: Public relations director and company spokesperson

Years Married: 11 years

Number of Children: 0

Religion: Lutheran

Child Care Plans: Tami plans to take off from work for two months once the child is placed in our home, while Paul intends to take off for a couple of weeks. Tami’s mom will watch the baby part time when Tami returns to work. On other days, we plan to use a daycare located close to our work so that we can stop in and check on the baby during the day.

Pets and Names: Himalayan cat, Bella

Ethnicity: Paul - German/Greek, Tami - Asian/German

Home/Neighborhood/Community/City Type:  Suburb

Years lived here: 2 years

Describe the community/neighborhood: We live in a two-story, four-bedroom home in the suburbs. We’re close to the zoo, a playground, community pool, restaurants, museums, theaters, shopping and more. We have a large backyard with plenty of room for kids to run and play, as well as space for a swing set. Additionally, our home has a fireplace, ensuring that Santa Claus can drop off plenty of presents at Christmas.

Family Traditions

Holidays: The holidays are all about spending time with family, enjoying each other’s company and creating lasting memories.

  • At Easter, we dye eggs, put together elaborate Easter baskets and then host a large Easter egg hunt for the kids.
  • The Fourth of July is one of our favorite holidays, as Tami’s parents happen to live in the center of their city’s festivities. We watch the parade  in the morning, participate in the city’s events and then do a very large cookout with family and friends. We like to spend the rest of the day hanging out and playing games until it is time to watch the fireworks in the evening.
  • We look forward to dressing up at Halloween and putting up decorations around the house. We go through mounds of candy with all of the trick or treaters.
  • At Thanksgiving, we enjoy a large roasted turkey with all of the fixings and numerous desserts created by Tami.
  • At Christmas, after we attend a church service, we open presents and help the kids assemble their new toys so they can start playing with them right away. The day is capped off with a huge feast. The family always looks forward to the homemade caramels that Tami makes each year.

Vacations: We love to travel, especially internationally, and try to take a couple of trips each year. Earlier this year, we had the opportunity to travel to the Amalfi Coast of Italy, where we enjoyed some of the most amazing food, including daily afternoon treats of gelato. We have been fortunate to have traveled the world -- much of Europe and North America, as well as parts of Asia and South America. We would look forward to taking your little one on adventures around the globe to experience other cultures.

Family Gatherings: In addition to all of the major holidays, birthdays are a big deal in our family. We always get together with extended family on birthdays and try to do something memorable, like playing games or taking turns at working to break open a piñata.

We also like to get together with the nephews to do fun (and sometimes “surprise”) outings, like a quick trip to the local custard stand, dinner at their favorite restaurant or an afternoon at the Brewers game.

Family Favorites





DaVinci Code

The Art & Soul of Baking





Steak and chocolate chip cookies (especially Tami’s)

Italian and anything chocolate

TV Show:

Big Bang Theory, The Goldbergs, That Metal Show

The Food Network, The Good Wife


Playing guitar, working out, international travel, watching movies and reading

Cooking, baking, playing piano, traveling, reading and spending time with family



 Giraffe, cat


 Summer, Fall

 Spring, Fall

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing:

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)

Open Adoption:

  • Ethnicity:  Caucasian/Asian/Hispanic/Native American
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin

Birthparent Letter

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this letter.

We won’t pretend to understand how you feel. We just want you to know that our hearts go out to you as you face some pretty big choices in the near future.

The decision to adopt was a fairly easy one for us, although not taken lightly. We’ve been happily married for more than 10 years, but have been unable to have children on our own. Yet, we know we want to grow our family.

One of our nephews (on Paul’s side) was adopted by Paul’s sister when he was just a newborn. Today, he is 15 years old and thriving. It was an open adoption with the birth mom, and things have turned out beautifully. We hope for something similar.

We’re down-to-earth, fun-loving and kind people. As cliché as it may sound, we’re best friends and soulmates, and truly cherish and enjoy spending time with each other, our much-adored cat and our extended family.

Tami’s mom, dad, sisters and nephews live nearby, and we enjoy spending time with them often. Paul’s family is just a few hours away, and while we don’t see them in person as frequently, we talk several times a week.

Aside from family, Paul’s greatest passion in life is music. He loves playing one of his many guitars and constantly surrounds himself with tunes - be it alternative, rock, electronic or metal. His other hobbies consist of working out, international travel and watching movies.

Tami greatest interest is anything associated with food. She loves cooking and baking, as well as going out to eat and visiting farmers markets. She also enjoys playing piano, international travel and reading.

We hope we have the opportunity to meet and talk in person, but in the meantime, please know this: we promise to love your child unconditionally with all our hearts, we promise to provide them with a great education, and we promise to support them as they pursue their dreams.

Wishing you the best on your journey,

Paul and Tami

For more information on Paul and Tami, contact Carrie Pedersen of Lutheran Social Services at:

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan