LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Nathan and Kari

For more information, contact Laura at Phone: 608-787-7541 or email: Laura.Conley@lsswis.org

Family Information

Full Names:Kari and Nathan

Number of Years Married: 6 yrs

Number of Children age(s): Jaxon (3-1/2 years old, adopted at birth)

Religion: Christian

Child Care Plans: Kari plans on taking 3 months off after the baby comes home. We will have the kids in daycare 4 days a week. Nate’s job is very flexible since he is self-employed.

Pets and Names: Golden retriever named Sully

Ethnicity: Caucasian

City Type: Rural

Years lived here: 6 years

Community/Neighborhood: Our house is located in the country, not far from town. We have a large yard with a swingset. The view from our living room window overlooks state forest land. There are many neat parks, the river, libraries, a children’s museum, and great schools nearby.

Holidays: Kari loves holidays, especially Christmas. As a family we visit a tree farm to cut down our Christmas tree each year. Jaxon is developing his love for Christmas music, crafts, and decorating from Kari. Nate’s favorite part is eating Christmas cookies.

We travel to see our families for many holidays. Kari’s mom always goes way overboard preparing food for Thanksgiving morning. We also enjoy dying eggs and having Easter egg hunts with Jaxon’s cousins.

Vacations: Each year we vacation at a lakeside resort with Kari’s extended family. We spend the week swimming, fishing, playing in the sand, eating ice cream, and playing games. We look forward to the day when we are able to share these experiences with another child as well.

Ever since he was little, Nate has taken a fishing trip to Canada in May with his family and friends. Jaxon is not quite old enough to go along yet, but he’s anxious to be able to join the guys some year soon!

Family Traditions:

•As a family we enjoy boating, fishing, visiting zoos and parks, playing board games, and having pizza and movie nights together.

•In the fall, we love to visit the apple orchard and pumpkin patches.

•In February, we celebrate Jaxon’s adoption day each year. We spend the day as a family doing all of his favorite things (i.e., visit the library, McDonalds playland, the children’s museum, etc).

Others: See more family memories and photos of our life at: http://growingourfamilythruadoption.shutterfly.com

Family Favorites

  Adoptive Mother Adoptive Father
Book:

Harry Potter series

Where the Red Fern Grows
Color: Orange Green
Food: American (and pizza!) Italian
TV Show: Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice Storm Chasers
Hobby:

Photography, Boating, Gardening, Reading

Fishing, Boating, Watching sporting events

Animal: Dolphin

Deer

Game: Catch Phrase

Poker

Season: Summer

Fall

 

Adoption Preferences

Ethnicity: Open to any child

Ongoing contact - Open Adoption:Open to all forms of contact; Open to all forms of contact / Letter and Photos / In-Person Visits

We are Open to Discussing:
Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy, Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Clinical depression in birthparents, Developmental disabilities in birthparents, Conceived through forced intercourse, Conceived through incest, Limited or no information about birthfather, Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)

Location of Birthparents:We are open to a birthparent in Wisconsin and other states.  To learn about all the states we are open to, contact Laura at Phone: 608-787-7541 or email: Laura.Conley@lsswis.org

Dear BirthParent,

We are Nathan and Kari and we are so excited to grow our family through adoption again! Our story began when we lived down the hall from each other in a dorm at Winona State University. We’ve known each other for 14 years and have been married for 6. After a few years of infertility struggles, we were overjoyed to adopt our son Jaxon!

Nathan through Kari’s eyes: Nate is truly my best friend. He has a carefree nature and is the type of person who never complains and is very optimistic. He is a wonderful father who is so proud of Jaxon. They like to play football, fish, watch cartoons, and dunk Oreos together. No one can make Jaxon giggle like Nate can! Nate has a Bachelor’s degree and owns his own hoof trimming business (dairy cows). He has a tremendous work ethic, yet because he is self-employed he can take time off to have fun too. He is also the typical guy who loves to spend Sundays watching football.

Kari through Nathan’s eyes: Kari is the love of my life. From the first time that I met her I knew she was special. She is also one of the best mothers I’ve ever met. She is patient and nurturing and is always making decisions for the benefit of Jaxon. You can tell she loves being a mom! She enjoys taking Jaxon to parks, the Children’s museum, library, and having play dates with friends. Some of her hobbies include gardening, reading, and photography. She has a Master’s degree in wildlife biology and currently works at the local hospital.

Jaxon: He has so much energy, a sweet personality, and a very active imagination! He loves dinosaurs, trains, fishing, baking, building forts and playing with his cousins. Jax is excited to become a big brother. Being parents has been such an amazing experience!

Thank you for taking the time to learn more about our family.

Kari and Nathan

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-246-2300

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top