LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Nathan and Abby

 

For more information, contact: Tracy Borcherdt at Tracy.Borcherdt@lsswis.org.

Family Information

Abby and Nathan 

Married: 8 ½ years

Children: none

Religion: Lutheran

Child Care Plans: Abby is hoping to take 8-12 weeks and Nathan hopefully 1-2 weeks after the child is placed.  Then we are hoping to have them placed in a certified private daycare or daycare facility while Abby and Nate continue to work.

Pets and Names: Sammi (dog- age 9) and Rosie (cat- age 5)

Ethnicity: Caucasian

 

Education/Occupation

Abby, 32 years old

Education: High School Graduate and 2 years of college at a technical school

Occupation: Certified Medical Assistant


Nathan, 38 years old

Education: High School Graduate and 1year of college at a technical school

Occupation: HVAC Engineer (Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning)


Home/Neighborhood/Community

City Type: Rural

Years lived here: 12 years

We live in a rural community in the country. We have about 7 neighbors on our road. We are surrounded by corn fields, soybean fields and some hay fields. It’s very quiet, and we have lots of room to run and play.

We live in a 2-story farm house style home with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.  We recently updated one of the bedrooms to be used as a future nursery.

 

Family Traditions 

Holidays: For the holidays we try to get together with family. We spend Christmas Eve with Abby’s Family and then Christmas Day with Nate’s mother’s family.  Then usually over New Year’s we celebrate Christmas with Nate’s father’s family.  For Thanksgiving typically Nate will go hunting and then go to his aunt’s house for lunch. Abby typically spends Thanksgiving with her family. Easter is spent at Nate’s mother’s.

Vacations: For the past few years we have been traveling to the Caribbean with friends of ours.  Once we have children we are hoping to make new vacations and new memories.  Whether it be going out west camping or even just being with our families here in Wisconsin.  Abby’s family currently winters in Arizona so hopefully some family trips can be made there as well.

Family Gatherings: We typically get together with our family every couple of months. Whether it be game night, birthdays or just to hang out. We also do a lot of family camping trips in the summer at least once per month. 
 

Family Favorites 

 

Abby

Nathan

Book: 

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

The Shining by Stephen King

Color: 

Purple

Blue

Food: 

Pasta

Pizza

TV Show: 

The Bachelor and Bachelorette

King of Queens

Hobby: 

Gardening, shopping, crafting, canning, and kayaking

Hunting, fishing, and kayaking

Animal: 

Dog

Dog

Game: 

Rummy (card game)

Rummy (card game)

Season: 

Summer

Fall

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Ethnicity: Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact/Letter and Photos/In-Person Visits
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin 


Birthparent Letter 

Dear Birthparent(s),

         We would like to thank you for giving us this opportunity to tell you about ourselves and our family.  We feel you are being very brave for pursuing adoption for your child and appreciate the opportunity you are giving our family.

         We met in 2004 while Abby was working at a gas station and Nate worked at a company nearby. We married in 2008 and have been loving married life ever since. Abby works as a Medical Assistant and Nate works as a HVAC Engineer. We love to go camping, kayaking, and being with our family and friends.  We have always wanted to start a family.  After 4 years of trying naturally and trying different infertility treatments, we were unsuccessful.  That is when we turned to adoption. We learned more about the process and realized this is the path that was meant for us. We look forward to sharing with your child where they came from and who they are.  We will be here to support them in their future and support them in where ever their life may lead them. We are open to various forms of contact with you to make sure you stay connected with your child.

         We are excited to start our family and have new memories with our children. We are looking forward to taking our children camping and going on family vacations together. We both enjoy camping and kayaking and binge watching Netflix.  Abby enjoys gardening and crafting while Nate enjoys fishing and hunting.  We can’t wait until the day when we can share our interests with our children.

         We appreciate you taking the time to learn about our family and hope you will want to meet us. We will always show your child how much we love them and tell them how much the parents that brought them into this world love them.

 

 

For more information, contact: Tracy Borcherdt at Tracy.Borcherdt@lsswis.org.

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-246-2300

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top