LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Matt and Kristin

 

 

Family Information

Matt & Kristin

Matt's Education: Masters degree

Matt's Occupation: Strategic marketing of newly developed products

Kristin's Education: Ph.D.

How long married? Seven years,

Children: No children

Religion: Christian (Catholic)

Child Care Plans: Kristin and Matt will take 4-5 months off after placement. After this time, we plan to use the NAEYC-accredited daycare center located at our workplace. Matt’s mom, who is retiring in the next several months from a lifetime career in early childhood education, will also be closely involved in childcare.

Pets: One cat, Franklin

Ethnicity:  Matt-German, Irish; Kristin-German, Swiss

City Type: Suburb

Years lived here: 9

Describe community/neighborhood: We live on a quiet cul-de-sac on the west side of Madison, WI, just two blocks away from a park with swings, climbers, basketball court, and large grassy areas to run. We’ve lived here for nine years, and have really enjoyed making the house our own through several renovation projects. We’re extremely fortunate to have great neighbors on both sides. Our back yard is great for summer BBQs on the deck or yard games like bean bag toss on the grass. The house is great for children, since the street is so quiet and the yards are open with a community feeling. There are also plenty of families on all sides of us with small children of various ages. We can imagine plenty of backyard play dates occurring at our house or the nearby park.

 

Family Traditions

Holidays: Our families are rich in many holiday traditions that we can’t wait to share with our children.  Matt’s family lives in southern Wisconsin and hosts traditional Thanksgiving and Easter gatherings with our extended families. During the holiday season, the family tradition we love is playing cards with Matt’s cousins and grandfather. For the week of Christmas, we visit Kristin’s family in Missouri, where we host large dinners and a gift exchange. 

Vacations: We love to travel with our families. We recently enjoyed a trip to England with Matt’s family. We also plan annual vacations with Matt’s sister and friends in the Caribbean. In the late summer, we spend a week with Kristin’s family in the mountains near Lake Placid, where we go on hikes and kayak trips, or in Connecticut enjoying the beach.

Family Gatherings: Since we live so close to Matt’s parents, we plan frequent visits and camping trips with them in Door County and northern Wisconsin. One of Matt’s passions is grilling, and he enjoys planning cookouts with his father during these family trips. We really like to grill Jamaican Jerk BBQ.  Our family also enjoys planning fun bike rides and day hikes.  We also love to take advantage of the local lakes in Madison, and go kayaking and also waterskiing with the family ski boat.  Our family often comes to Madison in the summer time for Concerts on the Square and the Farmer’s Market.

Family Favorites 

 

Adoptive Mother

Adoptive Father

Book

The Alchemist

The Hobbit

Color

Turquoise blue

Navy Blue

Food

Nachos with Guacamole

Jamaican BBQ

TV show

Big Bang Theory

Cheers

Hobby

Cooking, gardening, yoga

Boating

Animal

Cats

Cats

Game

Cards

Cards- Euchre, sheep’s head

Season

Spring & Summer

Spring & Summer

 

Adoption Preferences

Openness, Issues we are open to discussing:

  •      Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  •      Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  •      Drug use during pregnancy         
  •      Alcohol use during pregnancy
  •      Clinical depression issue in birthparents
  •      Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  •      Conceived through force intercourse
  •      Limited or no information about birthfather
  •      Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by Wisconsin law)

Open Adoption:

  •      Ethnicity:  Open to any child
  •      Ongoing Contact: Open to all forms of contact
  •      Open to states other than Wisconsin

Dear Birth Parent Letter

Hello, 

We’re Matt and Kristin.

Although we haven’t met, we admire your strength and courage as you consider adoption. For us, open adoption was the clear choice after years of unexplained infertility. We know adoption will be a journey that brings two families together with a common purpose of love for a child. If adoption is the path for you, please know that we would welcome the chance to begin this journey with you.        

We met about eleven years ago at work and quickly became friends.  We started dating soon after and became inseparable, enjoying camping, hiking and cooking together.  We’ve been happily married for 7 years. Our relationship grows stronger each year from open communication, trust, support, and lots of laughter and love.

We both attended University of Wisconsin-Madison, studying to be scientists. For over 12 years, we’ve worked for companies that value a balance between career and family life. We’re looking forward to encouraging a love of learning and offering opportunities for children to explore their passions. 

We love living in Madison and taking advantage of the many activities around town with family and friends. We own a home on a quiet street, and are lucky to have neighbors with young children on both sides of us. We love water sports, camping, hiking, skiing, and travel. We’re looking forward to creating new adventures as our family grows and providing our children the opportunity to travel and learn about different cultures.  

Thank you for taking the time to get to know a bit about us through this letter. We look forward to the opportunity to meet and get to know you. We wish you peace as you decide on the best choice for you and your child.

Warmest Wishes,  Kristin and Matt

For more information, contact: Laura Nedeau-Owen at 608.270.6635 or by email: Laura.Nedeau-owen@lsswis.org

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top