LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Marty and Kim

Miller Family

For more information, contact their LSS adoption social worker, Kristin Roovers at kristin.roovers@lsswis.org.

Family Information

Marty and Kim

Married: 14 years

Children: 1 child named William, 6 years old, biological

Religion: Lutheran

Child Care Plans: Kim will stay home for 12 weeks and then we will use a local licensed child care center that is very respected, 4-5 days/week.

Pets and Names: Surely Cat, Meemo the goldfish

Ethnicity: Marty is Swedish, Norwegian, and German. Kim is Korean.

 

Education/Occupations

Marty, 41 years old

Education: BA History, U of MN Twin Cities

Occupation: IT Engineer


Kim, 35 years old

Education: BA Business – HR/Finance, Bethel University

Occupation: Youth and Communications Coordinator


Home/Neighborhood/Community

City Type: Rural

Years lived there: 3+

We live in a friendly small town with lots of lakes, parks, and trails. Our neighborhood is within walking distance to the library, church, restaurants, fun shops, and the movie theater. We live in a two story, three-bedroom brick home with a double lot. We have a great backyard with a playground as well as cozy living areas inside.


Family Traditions

Holidays: Halloween we pick our pumpkins, carve them, and go trick or treating! Thanksgiving is spent with family and for many years we have deep fried a turkey for the occasion. At Christmastime, we have our family time Christmas Eve morning where we open our gifts and see what Santa has put in our stockings! He comes early because he knows that we go to Grandma and Grandpa’s house that evening and the next day so we won’t be home. It is filled with good food, family games, and laughter.

Vacations: We go to the family cabin for a week in the summer, and it’s on a beautiful lake. We go swimming, fishing, and exploring. Other times we go to Florida and go to the beach, or take weekend trips to visit family and friends. We love to travel and have been many places around the world.

Others: We spend time with our families but we also get to spend time with friends that are like family. Through summer camp we have formed friendships that are very meaningful to us. We’ll visit them for the weekend or take day trips to the zoo, local festivities, museums. We are blessed to supported by them.

Family Favorites

 

Marty

Kim

Book:

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery

Color:

Green

Purple

Food:

Chinese

Cheese

TV Show:

Game of Thrones

Parks and Rec

Hobby:

Computers

Reading and Baking

Animal:

I like cats.

I love cats!

Game:

Apples to Apples

Cribbage

Season:

Summer

Fall

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing:

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Conceived through incest
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Ethnicity: Open to any child
  • Contact: Open to all forms of contact
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin

 

Birthparent Letter

Hello! Thank you very much for your time in reading this letter. We respect your choice of considering adoption and we wish the best for you.

Our family life is one of love, openness, and laughter. We met at summer camp 17 years ago and spent many years living at various camps running summer programs for children and mentoring college students. We have loved being parents to William and watching him grow up. Over time we thought we would have to be content being a family of three, but the desire to grow our family never went away. Adoption is something we have always considered (before and after William), and we feel like this is the best way to be a family of four.

Marty is currently working as an IT Engineer. He enjoys sailing, watching movies, college basketball, NASCAR, playing video games, computers (of course) and gardening. Kim is the youth program and communications coordinator at our church, working with the middle and high school youth. She enjoys reading, spending time chatting with friends over coffee, baking, traveling, and exploring new things. William is in school and is in the first grade. He is very active and loves Legos, swimming, playing with friends, Star Wars, Marvel Avengers, reading, and coloring. Last but not least, we have a cat named Surely who we all adore, especially William.

We desire and look forward to an open adoption. Kim is adopted herself from Korea and was not able to find her birth parents. While she is at peace with that, we know that we have missed out on something special. We feel like not only can we offer additional insight to your child regarding adoption, we desire a continued relationship to continue that bond with you. We are excited to know that our child will be loved and supported in many different ways.

Blessings and peace to you,

Kim, Marty, and William

 

 

 

 

For more information, contact their LSS adoption social worker, Kristin Roovers at kristin.roovers@lsswis.org.

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top