LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

John and Melissa

For more information, contact Carrie at Phone: (414) 304-6977 or email: Carrie.Pedersen@lsswis.org

Family Information

Full Names: John and Melissa

Number of Years Married: 3

Number of Children age(s): 0

Religion: Lutheran (WELS)

Child Care Plans: Melissa will take three months off of work and then go back to work part time. John will take one week off and intermittent days during the first three months. Daycare is expected to be 2-3 days per week, with one day of the week being with a family member.

Pets and Names: None at this time. We have grown up with pets and are looking forward to having a dog or a cat in the future.

Ethnicity: John – German and Norweigian and Melissa – Irish, Italian, Swedish, Danish

Other: John proposed to Melissa before a Bret Michaels concert at a Milwaukee Admirals game. Check out the proposal on YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wTWNXFTRrU  or search the YouTube site for “A Major Engagement Bret Admirals”.

City Type: Metro

Years lived here: 3

Community/Neighborhood: We live on Milwaukee’s East Side and enjoy spending time in our vibrant neighborhood by going for walks along the lake, riding bikes down a park path, or sharing cultural events with friends and family. Our nieces and nephew love to visit us and walk to the Children’s Museum or Discovery World, followed by a trip down the street for hot dogs and ice cream. There are plenty of parks and activities for children and adults of all ages in and around our home. We do plan on moving to a single-family home in a Milwaukee suburb once we grow our family through adoption. For right now – we are enjoying the city life while it is just the two of us.

Holidays: We spend our holidays withour extended families as much as possible. When celebrating a holiday withJohn’s family we’re usually at the home of one of his many relatives. John’s mom is one of seven children and John’s dad is one of six, so there are many aunts, uncles, cousins, grandchildren, etc.  Finding a seat for dinner can be a challenge, but John still enjoys sitting at the “kid’s table” with his cousins! We also make time to visit with Melissa’s family for the holidays. Melissa’s family isn’t as large as John’s but holiday visits with them are just as important. Melissa, John, and her parents often travel to central Wisconsin to see her sister’s family, which includes her sister’s husband, son (7) and daughter (5). After Christmas or Thanksgiving dinner, we bundle up and go to a nearby park to “walk-off” the meal and look for wildlife.  Last year we saw a large Barred Owl flying low to the ground – the kids loved it! Our families are looking forward to a new addition to the family, and we’re excited to share the holidays with a child of our own.

Vacations: We love to travel and alternate a long destination vacation one year with a closer to home vacation the next. For example, we had the opportunity to go to Hawaii, which we absolutely loved! The next year we took shorter camping trips to state parks around Wisconsin. As a 2011 Christmas present for John, Melissa surprised him with a weekend trip to New York City to attend a special concert only held in Time Square. It’s important to us that we get a chance to visit with our friends, especially because everyone is so busy with work and families. Each summer John spends a weekend with his high school buddies in northern Wisconsin at a music festival, and every few years Melissa gets together with her college friends either back on campus or in other locations, such as Chicago or New York. In college, Melissa had the opportunity to study in Spain for a semester and travel around Europe before returning home. She is looking forward to someday going back to Spain with John and their children to show them the wonderful country. Since we both like to travel, we intend to travel with our adoptive child throughout Wisconsin, the United States and perhaps internationally. We believe there is so much that can be learned from spending time in other locations and cultures.

Family: Since most of John’s family lives in Wisconsin, we get to see them several times a year. Every summer a “Cousins Weekend” is scheduled where John’s Mom’s side gets together in central or northern Wisconsin for a camping.We may rent a pontoon boat and spend a day on a lake or go into town for some shopping. Each night ends with a bon fire and sometimes singing songs around the campfire and of course… s’mores. Since Melissa is originally from New Jersey, her extended family lives out east. Melissa, John, her parents and her sister’s family travel out to New Jersey to spend a weekend at her aunt’s house on the Jersey Shore. Her cousins and their children all travel to the house as well, and we all spend time at the beach, playing games and cooking meals.

Since we both have one sister, our immediate families are small. We’re fortunate that both of our parents and sisters get a long great, so we have had the chance to spend holidays and camping weekends collectively. We are excited to one day bring our child to our family gatherings to share the love of our immediate and extended families.

Other: See more family memories and photos of our life together at: http://johnandmelissamke.shutterfly.com/

For more information, contact Carrie at Phone: (414) 304-6977 or email: Carrie.Pedersen@lsswis.org

Family Favorites

  Adoptive Mother Adoptive Father
Book:

A Civil Action and trendy/fun books

The Godfather
Color: Purple Green
Food: Pizza and Carmel Apples Brats and Corn on the Cob
TV Show: Modern Family, Criminal Minds, 30 Rock Psych, Magnum PI, Monk, Simpsons
Hobby: Walking, Traveling, Camping Camping, Sports, Old Movies, Music
Animal: Cats

Orangutan

Game: Football Connect Four
Season: Fall

Hockey Season

Did you know: Melissa used to own and ride a Harley Davidson motorcycle

John lost over 30 pounds in a work weight loss competition – and the prize was a trip to Vegas!

 

Adoption Preferences

Ethnicity: Caucasian / Asian / Hispanic / Native American

Ongoing contact - Open Adoption:Open to all forms of contact; Open to all forms of contact / Letter and Photos / Occasional In-Person Visits

We are Open to Discussing: Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy, Developmental disabilities in birthparents, Conceived through forced intercourse, Conceived through incest, Limited or no information about birthfather, Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)

Location of Birthparents:We are open to a birthparent in Wisconsin and other states.  To learn about all the states we are open to, contact Carrie at Phone: (414) 304-6977or email: Carrie.Pedersen@lsswis.org

Dear BirthParent,

We are John and Melissa and have been married for 3 years. We are looking forward to sharing our love with a child through open adoption. We’ve been fortunate both professionally and personally, and are enthusiastically looking forward to a new chapter in our life’s journey. When you have finished reading about us, we hope you’ll have a better understanding of who we are and why we are excited to build our family through an open adoption.

Both of us grew up learning the importance of a strong work ethic, which we demonstrate that in our careers. John works for the Milwaukee Admirals hockey team, loves what he does, and, as a result, is very successful. Being an Environmental Consultant, Melissa finds her work very rewarding. She helps major companies develop and manage their environmental programs so they can produce their products with limited environmental impacts.

Outside of work, we enjoy spending time with our parents, siblings, cousins, friends and their families. We love attending sporting events, going to concerts, camping, reading, and watching movies. Our lives are fun, yet full of purpose, and not a day goes by we aren’t grateful for each other. Our marriage is rooted with a deep, mutual love for each other, and our lives are blessed with many supportive family members and friends.

We both envisioned our lives to include children but quickly we learned that giving birth to a child wasn’t going to happen. With an unwavering desire to have a family, we turned to adoption, not as a second choice, but as God’s plan for us. We don’t just want to be parents; we want to be adoptive parents. We truly want to share our lives with a child and provide that child with unconditional love, support, and understanding. Although we don’t know you yet, we greatly respect you for the options and resources you are seeking. If you would like to learn more about us, please request our portfolio. We are open to answering any questions you might have about us, our family, and our open adoption relationship with you.

 

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top