LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Jessica & Kelly

Ages:
Jessica: 39 Years Old
Kelly: 39 Years Old

Years Married:
16 years

Children:
We have one loving, biological son, Owen, who just turned six. 

Pets and Names:
We have a dog named Cooper; he is a 7-year-old Red and White Irish Setter. 

Religion:
Presbyterian

Ethnicity:
Kelly is presumably German, Irish and Norwegian. Jessica is presumably Polish and German. 

Connect with Family

For more information, contact adoption social worker Jazmin Lamar at 414-507-1895 or at jazmin.lamar@lsswis.org

Hello! Thank you so much for taking a few moments to learn a little more about us. While we can’t fully understand how difficult this time is for you, we want you to know how much we respect and appreciate your decision to consider adoption. The choice to choose others to parent your child is a selfless act – truly courageous and full of love and shows you just want what is best for your child.

We have always loved children! After years of being unable to get pregnant we used infertility treatments to conceive our son in 2011. Jessica has unexplained infertility and after a multitude of procedures we continued struggling with fertility issues. After lots of prayer and discussion, we made the decision to move to the next chapter in our lives, adoption. We feel that we have been led by God to adoption and are ready for Him to lead us to our future child.

We both come from close knit families who are eager to welcome another child into their hearts.  Kelly has three brothers and Jessica has a sister and a brother. Between our families, your child would have seven aunts and uncles, two sets of grandparents and seven cousins, all close by! 

Our home is in a safe, quiet residential neighborhood with very trustworthy neighbors. We live within walking distance of schools and parks and have nice access to the bike trails in the area. We have a large backyard where you will often find us playing fetch with our dog Cooper or games of tag with our son and the neighborhood friends!

We are both fairly easy-going people and we love to spend time together, lead very active lives, in our church and in our community. When not busy with work, church or family activities, we enjoy hosting people at our house, spending time outdoors and travel. We host football parties and BBQ nights at our house. There are always lots of board games and cards being played, and both of us have naturally competitive spirits.

Kelly is witty, laid back, and incredibly smart. He has a stable job as the owner of a remodeling company and is able to work from home. Kelly is terrific at managing our finances and budgeting, splits the household chores, and build or fix just about anything! Kelly’s hobbies include woodworking, farming, sports and travel.

Jessica is an intelligent, creative and caring person and is always happy to lend a helping hand to others. Her work from home, part-time job in the eldercare industry is a perfect fit for her. Jessica is a Deacon at our church, offering support and help to those who need it - in the church and with community outreach programs. She is an amazing cook and is always trying new things in the kitchen. In her free time, her hobbies include gardening, using her creative skills with decorating home projects and painting and drawing, and spending time outdoors running or walking.

Our greatest wish is to be parents again and Owen is eager to become a big brother! We know that adoption is a forever-journey and we look forward to being led to our future child and the expectant parents that will become a part of our lives. We truly wish you the best as you go through this process and will keep you and your baby in our prayers.

Kelly, Jessica and Owen 

Learn More About Jessica & Kelly

Open All
 Child Care Plans

Jessica will take three months of maternity leave then work part-time (Monday, Tuesday and every other Friday). Nana (Kelly’s mom), will watch the baby in our home once a week. The other one or two days we will have in-home childcare. Jessica will be a stay at home mom the remainder of the days.

 Education & Occupations

Jessica

Education:
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Major - Fine Arts, Minor - Mass Communication

Occupation:
Senior Account Specialist, Sales

Kelly

Education:
Milwaukee Technical College, Business Management

Occupation:
Owner & President of a Roofing and Exterior Remodeling Company

 Family Traditions

Holidays:
We celebrate them together with our close knit family!

  • We host an Easter egg hunt in our back yard with all the neighbor children. Jessica’s parents, Mary and Bill, host Easter dinner with Jessica’s siblings, cousins and aunts and uncles. Mary cooks the best Polish sausage!
  • Memorial weekend is sometimes reserved for projects at home! We pick something we all want work on like making a new garden!  Other times we go up north!
  • 4th of July boat ride up north to watch fireworks from the lake.
  • Labor Day weekend at the lake cabin for some beach time!  It’s always fun to set up our chairs on the sandbar, soak up some rays and relax with the family.
  • Thanksgiving tradition is spent at Jessica’s aunt Diane’s house for her famous turkey, stuffing and sweet potatoes! We spend some time looking through the paper for Black Friday deals and get ready to shop!

Christmas: 
One of our favorite traditions is making a fire in our wood fireplace while putting up decorations. Jessica makes her special home-made popcorn with marshmallows while we watch Christmas movies!  Jessica and Owen bake cookies with her aunt Diane every year and we deliver meals to the elderly on Christmas day to help spread love and joy. On Christmas Eve and Christmas day, we visit Owen’s great grandmother Dolores who’s 96! Kelly’s parents Art and Nancy and Jessica’s parents Bill and Mary host a celebration at their homes with our extended families. On Christmas morning, we always go over to Art and Nancy’s, just like we are kids again, arriving to presents under the tree and a house full of family! We enjoy home cooked breakfast and sit in the living room together while the grandchildren pass out presents with delight. These traditions are the ones we are looking forward to sharing with our next child the most!

Vacations:

  • Hayward: We spend a week in summer here to boat, fish, ski, tube, swim, and visit local town shops! Our favorite stop is the candy shop, where we fill baskets with goodies like taffy, Swedish fish and chocolates and watch the chocolatiers make fudge!
  • Eagle River: During the summer we spend extended weekends at Jessica’s family cottage on the lake.This past summer while we were there, we took a little drive to visit a petting zoo where we feed the giraffes and had the unique experience to give bears “bear soda!"
  • Neillsville: Our son dubbed this cabin the wooden cabin and it stuck! Here, we walk the wooded paths around the pond and through the fields. You can often find us playing tag, paddle boating and kicking back at the end of the day around a campfire. In fall we go to the state park and hike up to the peak to view the fall leaves and in winter we snowshoe and visit the local ski and tubing hill for some fun! This is also where Kelly and his brothers farm and plant trees in the summer.

Other:
We both enjoy traveling and make it a point to go somewhere new every couple of years. We went to Disney Land in Florida two years ago and will be headed to the Smokey Mountains, TN in 2018. We work very hard to take time to make memories as a family, enjoying each other’s company and life.  

Family Gatherings:
In addition to the holidays spent with family, we love to celebrate each other’s birthdays! We host a lot of these gatherings because we are centrally located to all our family members and we love to cook yummy food! Our families have been incredibly supportive of adoption; they are looking forward to a new family member as much as we are. Your child would be surrounded by people who will love your child unconditionally for who they are! 

 Family Favorites
  Jessica Kelly
Book Cook books, DaVinci Code Non-fiction history books
Color Turquoise Green
Food Tacos Spaghetti
TV Show Scandal, Home Improvement Channel History Channel, fishing shows
Hobby Gardening, art, reading, exercise, cooking, boating, volunteering Reading, fishing/hunting, woodworking, grilling/smoking food
Animal Dog Dog
Game Cards, Cribbage and board games Cards, Cribbage, puzzels
Season Summer Fall
Sports Team All things kid related: make believe, story time, bike riding, catching bugs, princesses, movies snuggles, cooking fun meals and having breakfast for dinner, smiles and hugs! Working together on a project; farming up north; kid's activities, making people laugh, yard work!
 Home & Community

City Type:
Rural Suburb

Years lived here:
9 years

Describe the community/Neighborhood:
We live in a quite suburb in a safe and welcoming neighborhood within walking distance to nearby parks and schools!  We enjoy the quiet of an older neighborhood yet love the community involvement. Family friends live next door and have two adopted children and the neighbors behind our home have four adopted children. We feel lucky to have them in our lives as we go through this hopeful adoptive time. We have similar values and have learned so much about adoption first hand and the love first parents and adoptive parents share for their child. Our brother and sister-in-law, with their 4 year old son, live across the street.  Many evenings we get together at one of our houses and the kids all play together, drawing with chalk, catching fire-flies, making up games or riding bikes in the driveway. We love that we have such a fun community of young families to have our kids grow up together.  We built our home ourselves 8 years ago.  It’s a two-story with 4-bedrooms. We poured a lot of love into our dream home and plan to stay here until we retire. 

 Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law) 

Open Adoption:

  • Ethnicity: Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin? Yes

For more information, contact adoption social worker Jazmin Lamar

Contact Information: 414-507-1895           
Email: Jazmin.Lamar@lsswis.org

 

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-246-2300

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top