LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

David and Erin

For more information, contact LSS Adoption Social Worker Brittany Bembnister 608-787-7540 or by email: Brittany.Bembnister@lsswis.org.

Family Information

David and Erin 

Married: 14 years

Children: Makai, adopted, age: 2

Religion: Christian

Child Care Plans: Erin works 10 hours outside of the home, and we have an in-home nanny during that time. Dave typically works 4 days a week and we enjoy having 3-day weekends together as a family.

Pets: None

Ethnicity: Dave and Erin - Caucasian, Makai - African American

 

Education/Occupations

Dave, 36 years old

Education:  Doctorate  

Occupation: Orthodontist


Erin, 35 years old

Education: Bachelor’s Degree

Occupation: Teacher for 7 years, now part-time Office Manager and stay-at-home mom

 

Home/Neighborhood/Community

City Type: Rural/metro

Years lived here: 4

We live in a mid-size city in a house built in the 1930’s. We can walk to the park, the YMCA, the library, the children’s museum, and our church.  We enjoy walking downtown for ice cream on warm summer evenings and playing in our fenced-in backyard.

 

Family Traditions

Holidays

  • Christmas - we typically fly to Florida to visit Erin’s parents for Christmas. They live in Wisconsin in the summer and Florida in the winter.  We have enjoyed new traditions that come with Christmas in Florida such as Christmas lights on palm trees, fresh seafood for Christmas dinner, and going to church in shorts and sundresses.
  • Easter - we always attend church on Easter and try to spend time with family. And of course Makai enjoys finding his Easter Basket and Easter Egg Hunts!
  • 4th of July - we like to spend the 4th of July at our cabin where we watch the fireworks from the boat.
  • Halloween - we enjoy going to the pumpkin patch in the fall and then carving pumpkins together as a family.  Dave is very good at roasting the seeds.  On Halloween, Makai enjoys going trick-or-treating, and we pass out toothbrushes and toothpaste at our house, with some candy as well!
  • Thanksgiving- Dave’s family gathers at his brother’s house in Minneapolis for Thanksgiving every year, and there are usually over 30 people for Thanksgiving dinner. Erin made homemade rolls one year, and now has to make them every year!

Vacations

  • We try to take a week off of work at the end of May and the beginning of September and go to our cabin in northern Wisconsin. We also go to the cabin several times throughout the year and enjoy fishing, boating, and swimming.
  • We usually travel to see Erin’s parents in Florida twice a winter. They rent a house on the water so we go boating, fishing, snorkeling, and kayaking.

Family Gatherings: We gather often with Dave and Erin’s families for family gatherings and to celebrate holidays.  Dave’s family is very large, so there are always a lot of people around. Erin’s family is small, so it is usually quieter, but no matter which family we are with, everyone adores Makai and can’t wait to have another baby around.

 

Family Favorites 

 

Dave

Erin

Book: 

Sports books about famous athletes

James and the Giant Peach by Ronald Dahl

Color: 

Blue

Green

Food: 

Pizza and Pasta

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, (especially the egg and pumpkin shaped ones)

TV Show: 

ESPN (sports) and anything that can make me laugh

The Office

Hobby: 

Anything outside with my family.  Golf, running, hiking, canoeing, biking, and basketball

Doing anything outside, from walking to hiking to fishing to gardening to reading on the porch

Animal: 

Dogs

Dogs

Game: 

Cards (Euchre)

Pictionary

Season: 

Fall

Spring

Other: 

I love spending time with my family during my free time.

I thoroughly enjoy taking photos of my family and scrapbooking.

 

Adoption Preferences

Openness: Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Conceived through incest
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)

Open Adoption

  • Ethnicity: Black/Asian/Hispanic/Native American  - ALL
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact/Letter and Photos/In-Person Visits -  ALL
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin? Yes

 

Birth Parent Letter

Dear Birthparents,

         Thank you for choosing life for this baby; that is a very noble and difficult choice. And thank you for considering us to love, care for, and raise this child; we would be completely honored to have such a responsibility.

         I, Erin, have wanted to grow my family through adoption ever since I can remember. 

Thankfully I met a man who shares this passion.  Our hearts break for the babies and families who have found themselves with such a difficult decision and the best way we know to help is to offer a loving and secure home for these children and a support system for the rest of their families.  We are very excited to not only share our lives and love with the children God brings into our home, but also to form relationships with their biological families. 

         We were both raised in Wisconsin. Dave enjoys working as an Orthodontist in his hometown, and Erin likes the balance of working part-time in the office and then being a stay-at-home mom. In February of 2015, we were matched with Makai’s birth-mom and he was born April 24, 2015 in St. Louis, MO.  We rushed to St. Louis and were with him from the time he was 12 hours old. We have an open adoption with his birth family and know that a child can never have too many people to love him!  We communicate often via text, send photos, and visit once a year.

         In our free time we enjoy spending time together as a family traveling, hiking, biking, fishing, and going to the park.  We also enjoy spending time with friends and family sitting around campfires at our cabin in northern Wisconsin, playing bean bag toss, and laughing. We try to cook dinner together most nights and spend time talking about our days together. Since Dave is the youngest of 8 children, he has 16 nieces and nephews that range in age from 27 years old to 3 years old. Erin has one brother who has 2 children. We enjoy seeing family often and celebrating holidays and birthdays together.

We are excited to have an open adoption since we know that most children who have been adopted wonder about their biological family, but also wish to respect your request about the level of communication and relationship you desire to have with us and this child.  Thank you for considering us, and we are praying for health, wisdom, and strength for you, your family, and this child as you navigate this difficult time in your life.

With prayers,

Dave and Erin

 

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top