LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Dan and Sarah


For more information, contact Laura at Phone: (608) 270-6635  or email: Laura.Nedeau-owen@lsswis.org.

Family Information

Full Names: Daniel and Sarah

Number of Years Married: 19

Number of Children age(s): 0

Religion: None Practiced but accepting of all

Child Care Plans: In addition to taking time off with the placement, we both have jobs with flexible hours and plan to arrange our schedules to ensure the child will be in daycare only 3 days a week.

Pets and Names: Cats Zeus and Flutterby and Dog Kiku

Ethnicity: Both German / Northern European

City Type: Small town

Years lived here: 9

Community/Neighborhood: Small town neighborhood with old houses, big yards, old trees and lots of adorable children running around.

Other: We are both from small towns and are delighted to find ourselves living in one.

Holidays: We want to give a child the kind of memories that we have of presents under the tree, trick or treating and family reunions, and are looking forward to starting some of our own family traditions. We enjoy making many of the presents we give, and we love to cook, as do our extended families, so holiday meals with the family are always something special.

Vacations: We love road trips and traveling. Over the years, we have travelled around the US to places like Boston, San Francisco and Yellowstone National Park. We have been to Europe and Thailand to visit family, and are hoping to get to Australia where we have friends and Nicaragua where our Brother in Law is from.

Family: We have family in Florida and Ohio. Sarah’s parents live in Wisconsin and Dan’s down the road. Both sides of our family have frequent reunions from small gatherings to big events.

Others: We enjoy camping and the outdoors. Dan’s family has a cabin in the woods in Northern Wisconsin that we enjoy using.

Family Favorites


 
  Adoptive Mother Adoptive Father
Book: Harry Potter The Lord of the Rings
Color: Purple Blue
Food: Sushi and dark chocolate (not at the same time!) Sweet / Chocolate / Coffee separately or together.
TV Show: Criminal Minds Mythbusters
Hobby: Crochet, cross-stitch and quilting, making jewelry Woodworking
Animal: Cats Barn Swallows, I love to watch them.
Game: Card games Rugby when I can find it to watch
Season: Summer Fall
Other: Hiking, smelling flowers Reading books out loud to Sarah (and children)


Adoption Preferences

Ethnicity: Open to any child

Ongoing contact - Open Adoption: Open to all forms of contact

We are Open to Discussing: Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy, Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Clinical depression in birthparents, Mental health issues in birthparents, Developmental disabilities in birthparents, Conceived through forced intercourse, Conceived through incest, Limited or no information about birthfather

Location of Birth parents:We are open to a birth parent in Wisconsin and other statesTo learn about all the states we are open to,  contact Laura at Phone: (608) 270-6635  or email: Laura.Nedeau-owen@lsswis.org.
 

Dear Birth Parent and Child,

We are having a horrible time writing this letter. As we look to why, we realize that it is because we have no clue what it’s like to be in your shoes. We can’t imagine what it’s like to make a decision to choose someone who we will entrust with such a great joy and responsibility. We will try to make your decision easier by telling you a little about ourselves so you can choose if we would be a good match for your child.

We believe that a child has the right to grow up in a safe home with unconditional love. Children should be encouraged to explore and be given opportunities to discover their place in life. Children should be enjoyed. We also understand the responsibility of figuring out a child’s needs and teaching values. We would love to raise a child and help them to be the best person that they can be. We are excited about the possibilities that come with an open adoption. We enjoy the idea of our child having access to his or her birthparents. We look forward to deciding what an open adoption would look like with your help.

Dan is an artist and woodworker. His creativity shows in the house as we fix it up. He works at a store that sells woodworking tools, where he finds many supplies for the house, and new toys for his workshop.

Sarah is a mental health therapist who loves her work. Helping people is fundamental to who she is. She enjoys crochet, making jewelry, cross-stitch, making Christmas presents, walking, spending time with friends and family, smelling a flower and playing with our cats and our dog.

As a couple, we have decided to follow our dreams and do what we love in life. That is why we live in a small town in an older house that we are fixing up the way we want it to be. We like to hike, canoe, camp, garden, watch movies, go out to eat or a coffee shop, read out loud to each other (We look forward to reading to children), or just hang out with friends and family.

For more information, contact Laura at Phone: (608) 270-6635  or email: Laura.Nedeau-owen@lsswis.org.

 

 

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-246-2300

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top