LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Cal and Jo

For more information about Calvin and Jo, contact Tracy Hilger, LSS Adoption Social Worker at tracy.hilger@lsswis.org.

 

Family Information

Full Names: Calvin John Hettwer and Jo Lynn Hettwer

Married: 3 years

Children: None

Religion: Lutheran (WELS)

Child Care Plans: Jo will take 10 weeks off work; Calvin will take 1. We will hire an in-home nanny when Jo returns to work.

Pets and Names: Two dogs - Cooper (Golden Retriever), Lainey (Black Lab); One potbelly Pig: Violet; and 19 chickens!

Ethnicity: Calvin: German/Irish and Jo: Scottish/English       

Education/Occupation

Calvin, 32 years old

Education: UW Stevens Point-Natural Resources Management 

Occupation: Certified General Appraiser


Jo, 31 years old

Education: Alma College-English Education 

Occupation: Marketing Manager

Community

City Type: Rural

Years lived here: 8, just purchased new home in same neighborhood.

Describe the community/neighborhood: We just purchased our home and are excited to live in the woods! Our home is tucked away well away from any traffic.  Our property joins with the Wisconsin Valley Improvement and we have access to hundreds of acres for hiking, hunting, and picnicking!

 

Family Traditions

Holidays: We enjoy spending as much time as possible with family for holidays.  We kick Christmas off with the children’s program at Calvin’s childhood church, then move to Aunt Nan’s house for family fun and her delicious pork sandwiches!  Christmas morning gift exchange followed by a parade of family, food, and laughter.  The whole extended family gets together in January and we have more food than our bellies can hold!  Easter is another joyful time with family down in Fond du Lac.  We always cook a big meal and enjoy time with our friends and family.  Our favorite holiday is Fourth of July! Calvin is a volunteer firefighter in Tomahawk, and every year we get to take a fire truck in the parade. We celebrate ‘North for the Fourth’ with family that make the trip up, and spend time on our boat, eating ice cream from the Windmill, and playing yard games with the family. Thanksgiving is our other favorite!  We host a big dinner and then the girls go see a movie while the boys head to the woods to hunt! 

Vacations: We try to find things we’ve never done before and do them together, whether hiking in the mountains or sightseeing in the big city!  Last summer we took a trip to New York City and had a blast riding around Central Park on a bicycle built for two, making pizza sandwiches out of New York’s finest pizza, and climbing to the top of the Empire State Building.  

Family Gatherings: Spending time with family is one of our top priorities.  We both lost all of our grandparents after we were married, and we know that time is the one thing you can never get back. With the birth of our nephew, Eliot, it’s even more true. Every chance we get to spend time with family we take.  We love yard games, grilling out, and bonfires. We take trips twice a year to visit Jo’s family in Michigan where we go to her childhood favorite restaurant “Big Al’s”.
 

Others: We both really enjoy the outdoors. Calvin is an avid hunter and fisherman, and Jo loves being outside looking for otters or other creatures she tries to convince Calvin should move in with them. 

 

Family Favorites 

 

Adoptive Father, CALVIN

Adoptive Mother, JO

Book: 

Outdoor News

The Hunger Games series

Color: 

Green

Blue

Food: 

Ribeye Steak

Ribeye Steak, Cheese

TV Show: 

NFL Football

Anything on the Food Network!

Hobby: 

Hunting/fishing

Cooking, refinishing old dressers.

Animal: 

Dog

Otter

Game: 

Cribbage

Monopoly

Season: 

Summer

Fall

Other: 

Spending time outdoors with friends/family

Cooking for friends and family

 

Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)
  • Ethnicity:  Caucasian/Asian/Hispanic/Native American/Mixed-race
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin? Yes 

 

Dear Birth Family,

Thank you so much for considering us in your adoption plan!  We are excited to start this new adventure with you and welcome a little one into our life.  We are a fun-loving, adventurous, on-the-go couple.  Raising a child is our ultimate dream and we are happy to be a part of this process with you.

We have chosen adoption because we firmly believe that there is a child out there that will join our family.  This child will not have our face or features, s/he will have yours, and we will love them no different.  We live in a nice country home on a few acres in Tomahawk.  We have a pig, Violet, 19 chickens (I’ll spare you the naming of each one because yes, they’re all named!), and two dogs, Cooper and Lainey.  Calvin is 32 and is active with his job as a real estate appraiser as well as being an officer in the US Army National Guard.  He also volunteers on the Tomahawk Fire Department.  Jo is 31 and is the Digital Marketing Manager for a local car dealership in Rhinelander, and just completed her commitment to the US Army Reserves.  We enjoy spending time working on projects around home-Calvin is very handy and enjoys building things, and Jo enjoys cooking and trying to be crafty, but somehow her projects never seem to turn out like they do on Pinterest!  We cherish each other more than anything and we know that we will always have each other.  We’ve weathered many storms together in this journey to begin our family and with God’s help, we’ll always be able to.  We are active members of our church in Tomahawk, and will bring any children we are blessed with there.   We look forward to having our little one ride shotgun in the 4th of July parades, and wiping dirty feet after the softball games at Sara Park in Tomahawk.  We love to go on hikes, occasionally travel, and taking little ‘day adventures’ on the boat or with our dogs. 

We live in a nice country home that connects to hundreds of acres of public land.  We get to hike, fish, hunt, and enjoy nature right outside our back door!  Above all, we want you to know that parenting is our number one priority.  We will put the needs of our child above and before our own.  We would love to welcome not only your child, but you into our lives. 

We appreciate you taking the time to consider us in this process and hope that we have answered any questions you may have about us.  We respect any decision that you make on behalf of your family and hope that you have found peace on your journey.  Be blessed!

With love, 
Calvin & Jo

 

For more information about Calvin and Jo, contact Tracy Hilger, LSS Adoption Social Worker at tracy.hilger@lsswis.org

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-281-4400

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top