LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

  •  

Andrew and Tory

Ages:
Andrew: 35 Years Old
Tory: 34 Years Old

Years Married:
9 years

Children:
Liam, one year old, adopted

Pets and Names:
None

Religion:
Lutheran

Ethnicity:
Andrew is Swedish, Norwegian and German. Tory is Dutch, German and French. 

Connect with Family

For more information, contact adoption social worker Brittany Bembnister at: 608-787-7540 or by email at Brittany.Bembnister@lsswis.org

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile and consider us! We appreciate you taking this courageous step in considering adoption. We cannot express the extent of our gratitude for your selfless decision to create an adoption plan for your child. We are over the moon about growing our family through adoption and will be forever grateful for this opportunity.  

We met in college. Through our time together, we discovered our many shared interests and values, our passion for education, our strong work ethic, our joy in helping others and our love for the outdoors. We are best friends and love spending lots of time together! After experiencing fertility challenges, we wholeheartedly began on the path to adoption, and in 2016, we welcomed our son, Liam, to our family.

We truly value open adoption. We are flexible on the degree of openness, would love to hear your ideas and discuss this topic with you. Your child will always know their adoption story and about their gracious birth parents, who love them dearly and selflessly blessed our family.

We are enthusiastic about this adventure to grow our family again through open adoption and for Liam to have a sibling. Liam is a playful, affectionate and smart one-year-old. As a family, we enjoy being outdoors, hiking, going on walks, biking, playing at the park and spending time with family and friends. We spend lots of time together as a family and absolutely adore the joyful experience of being parents. We are incredibly lucky to have Liam’s wonderful birth family in our lives. We enjoy getting together with his birth family and sending them photos and updates.

Tory is compassionate, open-minded and patient. Andrew is kind, easygoing and perseverant. We are both intelligent, down-to-earth, dependable, great listeners and young-at-heart. As parents, we love participating in playtime, encouraging learning and planning fun/educational activities and outings.

We will provide a nurturing environment, educational opportunities and unconditional love. We are a very compassionate and loyal family and will approach adoption with appreciation and openness.We admire and respect your great courage and strength in considering adoption. We sincerely wish you the very best on your journey to finding the right fit for you and your child!

With all of our love,

Andrew, Tory and Liam

Learn More About Andrew & Tory

Open All
 Education & Occupations

Andrew

Education:
B.S., Nursing and B.S., Construction Management

Occupation:
Critical Care Registered Nurse

Tory

Education:
Bachelor of Fine Arts, Interior Architecture and Design

Occupation:
Stay at home mom

 Family Traditions

Holidays:
We celebrate Thanksgiving, Christmas and other holidays with both Andrew’s family and Tory’s family.  We spend Christmas Eve with Andrew’s family.  During Christmas time, we bake cookies together with Tory’s family to share with family and friends.  Around Easter time each year, we go to our friends’ Easter egg hunt at their country home, where many families and their little ones hunt for eggs, create fun crafts and play together.  On the Fourth of July, we get together with family, grill out and then watch fireworks.  For Halloween, we go to the pumpkin patch, carve pumpkins and go trick-or-treating. 

Vacations:
Each summer Tory’s family vacations at a cabin on a lake in northern Wisconsin for a week.  During this time, we enjoy boating, kayaking, canoeing, four-wheeling, fishing, hiking and playing bean bag toss and board games.

Andrew’s family makes a yearly trip to northern Minnesota to vacation on the lake.  This has been an annual tradition in his family for many years.  Andrew not only has a large immediate family but also has a large extended family.  His grandma, aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings, nieces and nephews all get together for this fun-filled summer vacation.  During this time up north, the time is spent jet skiing, boating, water skiing, fishing, swimming, kayaking and playing board/card games.

Family Gatherings:
Our families live a little over an hour away, and we visit quite often.  Also, our families get together for birthdays and special occasions.  Tory’s family enjoys the outdoors, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, four-wheeling, playing board games, watching movies, eating out at restaurants and spending time with family.  Andrew’s family enjoys playing sports, watching movies, playing board games and video games, making people laugh and spending time with family.

 Family Favorites
  Andrew Tory
Book Essentials of Critical Care Nursing The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Color Blue Blue
Food Pizza Ice cream
TV Show Big Bang Theory Fixer Upper and documentaries
Hobby Being outdoors, biking, hiking, kayaking, DIY projects
and watching movies
Being outdoors, biking, hiking, kayaking, photography, arts/crafts, reading and baking
Animal Dog Cat
Game Cards Softball
Season Fall Fall
 Home & Community

City Type:
Medium-sized city

Years lived here:
5 years

Describe the community/Neighborhood:
We live in a charming brick bungalow home in a beautiful, tree-lined historic neighborhood. The area where we live is a very safe, family-friendly neighborhood with great schools and lovely residential architecture. The medium-sized city has gorgeous natural surroundings with picturesque bluffs, stunning river views and all sorts of fun activities for the outdoor enthusiast. We live within blocks of two parks and only a short distance from many hiking and biking trails; the elementary school is only a few blocks from our home. The public library, YMCA and children’s museum are a short drive away.

 Adoption Preferences

Open Adoption:

  • Ethnicity: Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact, letteres, photos and in-person visits
  • Open to Wisconsin and other states

To learn more about us visit our website.

For more information, contact adoption social worker Brittany Bembnister at608-787-7540 or by email at brittany.bembnister@lsswis.org

647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-246-2300

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
top