LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan


Andrew and Tory

For more information, contact LSS Adoption Social Worker: Brittany Bembnister at

Family Information

Andrew and Tory

Married: Eight years

Children: None

Religion: Lutheran

Child Care Plans: Tory will be a full-time stay-at-home mom.

Pets and Names: None

Ethnicity: Andrew is Swedish, Norwegian and German. Tory is Dutch, German and French.


Andrew, 33 years old

Education: Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Bachelor of Science in Construction Management 

Occupation: Critical Care Registered Nurse

Tory, 32 years old

Education: Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interior Architecture and Design

Occupation: Nanny


City Type:  Medium-sized city

Years Lived Here: Three years

We live in a charming brick bungalow home in a beautiful, tree-lined historic neighborhood. The area where we live is a very safe, family-friendly neighborhood with great schools and lovely residential architecture. The medium-sized city has gorgeous natural surroundings with picturesque bluffs, stunning river views and all sorts of fun activities for the outdoor enthusiast.  We live within blocks of two parks and only a short distance from many hiking and biking trails; the elementary school is only a few blocks from our home. The public library, YMCA and children’s museum are a short drive away.

Family Traditions

Holidays:  We celebrate Thanksgiving, Christmas and other holidays with both Andrew’s family and Tory’s family. We spend Christmas Eve with Andrew’s family.  During Christmas time, we bake cookies together with Tory’s family to share with family and friends.

Vacations:  Each summer Tory’s family vacations at a cabin on a lake in northern Wisconsin for a week.  During this time, we enjoy boating, kayaking, canoeing, four-wheeling, fishing, hiking and playing bean bag toss and board games.

Andrew’s family makes a yearly trip to northern Minnesota to vacation on the lake. This has been an annual tradition in his family for many years. Andrew not only has a large immediate family but also has a large extended family. His grandma, aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings, nieces and nephews all get together for this fun-filled summer vacation. During this time up north, the time is spent jet skiing, boating, water skiing, fishing, swimming, kayaking and playing board/card games.

Family Gatherings:  Our families live a little over an hour away, and we visit quite often. Also, our families get together for birthdays and special occasions.  Tory’s family enjoys the outdoors, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, four-wheeling, playing board games, watching movies, eating out at restaurants and spending time with family. Andrew’s family enjoys playing sports, watching movies, playing board games and video games, making people laugh and spending time with family.

Family Favorites





Essentials of Critical Care Nursing

Oh She Glows Cookbook






Ice cream

TV Show: 

Big Bang Theory

Fixer Upper and documentaries


Being outdoors, biking, hiking and kayaking

Being outdoors, biking, hiking, kayaking, photography, arts/crafts, reading and baking











Adoption Preferences

Child Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Hispanic, Native American, open to all ethnicities

Ongoing Contact: Open to all forms of contact, letters, photos and in-person visits
Birth Parent Location: Open to Wisconsin and other states


Birth Parent Letter

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile and consider us!  We appreciate you taking this courageous step in considering adoption.  We cannot express the extent of our gratitude for your selfless decision to create an adoption plan for your child.  We are over the moon about starting a family and will be forever grateful for the opportunity to grow our family through adoption. 

We met in college and soon became great friends.  Through our time together, we discovered our many shared interests and values, our passion for education, our strong work ethic, our joy in helping others and our love for the outdoors.  We are best friends and love spending lots of time together! 

Like many couples, we dream of starting a family. After experiencing fertility challenges, we realized our path was leading us a different direction. We wholeheartedly feel adoption is the right path for us, and we are enthusiastic about this new adventure to grow our family.

We truly value open adoption. We are flexible on the degree of openness, would love to hear your ideas and discuss this topic with you. Your child will always know their adoption story and about their gracious birth parents, who love them dearly and selflessly blessed our family.  In all aspects of our life, we feel like communication, honesty and a positive approach are important.

Tory is compassionate, open-minded, patient and creative. Andrew is kind, easygoing and perseverant. We are both intelligent, down-to-earth, dependable, great listeners and young-at-heart. Our hobbies include being outdoors, hiking, biking, kayaking and spending time together with family and friends.

We will provide a nurturing environment, educational opportunities and unconditional love. We will encourage the child to explore their interests and pursue their dreams. We are a very open-minded, compassionate and loyal family and will approach adoption with appreciation and openness.  We admire and respect your great courage and strength in considering adoption. It would be our deepest joy and greatest privilege to share our hearts and home with your child. We look forward to meeting you. We sincerely wish you the very best on your journey to finding the right fit for you and your child!

With all of our love,
Andrew and Tory


Learn More About Us




647 W. Virginia Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

Accredited by

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan