John and Stephanie
LSSWis - Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Lutheran Social Services of
Wisconsin and Upper Michigan


John and Stephanie O’Connor

John: 29 Years Old
Stephanie: 29 Years Old

Years Married:
6 years


Pets and Names:
Border Collie (5 years old)- Maggie

Christian (Lutheran- LCMS)

John is Irish, German, and English; Stephanie is Norwegian, German, and English

Connect with Family

For more information, contact adoption social worker Livy Malle at: 414-539-5425 or by email at

John & Stephanie

Dear Birthparents,

We want to thank you for taking the time to read our letter and for you to know that we are praying for you-- Prayers of faith and courage as this must be so difficult for you, and peace and comfort knowing it’s all in God’s hands.  We couldn’t be more thankful for how loving and selfless you are to consider adoption as part of the future for you and your precious baby.

The Story of Us: We both grew up in the Milwaukee area and met on orientation day of our freshman year of high school.  We eventually graduated college together, both in teaching, and were married in 2011. We continue to enjoy spending time together- running, traveling, golfing, trivia nights, and playing cards.  Our immediate and extended families are full of teachers too- from early childhood through high school. A love for children runs through many generations! Each year we are blessed with a classroom full of children who are ours for only so long.  Every year our hearts ache to fill that empty space waiting for a child to join our family.

Adoption has always been a big part of each of our families. Both of our older sisters were adopted, so it was natural for us to choose to adopt as well when we were unable to conceive. They are SO excited to have this special relationship with their niece/nephew!  Everyone who knows about our desire to adopt is full of joy and support for our family and is keeping you in their prayers as well. 

We are excited to be in an open adoption program and look forward to finding out what type of relationship you desire. Your child will always know their adoption story, your selfless love, and the special blessing they are to us. We are eager to love, support, and encourage your child to use the gifts and talents that God has given him/her as he/she learns and grows in our family. We look forward to getting to know you!  Thank you for transforming our lives and being an answer to our prayer.

God’s continued blessings,

John and Stephanie

Learn More About John & Stephanie

Open All
 Child Care Plans

John and Stephanie will both have time at home with the baby at the time of placement.  Stephanie will take the full 12 weeks and John will take 2 weeks.  After this time, we plan on using our child’s very eager grandparents to care for the baby until he/she is 6 months old.  Our child will then primarily go to the child care located at Stephanie’s school that she teaches at (infant-8th grade), as well as spend time with grandparents.  Since we are both teachers, we have all summer, holidays, and special days off each month.

 Education & Occupations


Bachelor's Degree - Secondary Education and Social Studies; Masters in Educational Leadership and Innovation

Teacher- Middle School


Bachelor's Degree - Elementary Education and Special Education

Teacher-Third Grade

 Family Traditions

We are blessed to have our families so close to celebrate all of the holidays together.  From Easter and the Fourth of July to Thanksgiving and Christmas, our favorite is Christmas!  We have John’s family Christmas on Christmas Eve and Stephanie’s family on Christmas Day.  We love to go to church together, bake cookies, exchange gifts, play games, and pick names off of the giving tree at church to buy presents for children in need.  We love having two full weeks off during Christmas break for extra family time.

We love to travel at different times of the year. For spring break we enjoy traveling with John’s family to warmer weather in Florida or Arizona.  In summer, we enjoy camping in northern Wisconsin with Stephanie’s whole family, and then to a cabin with John’s family for the Fourth of July.  We take smaller trips throughout the summer and winter to visit extended family and friends too.

Family Gatherings:
Living within 20 minutes of our parents and other family has been a huge blessing!  We love to get together for dinner, game nights, movies, and other fun outings almost weekly.  Stephanie’s sisters live a couple hours away, which is fun for a weekend trip.  We all get together often and it always involves many good laughs and lots of love.

We are beyond excited to continue our family holidays and traditions, as well as create new traditions together.  While holidays are extra fun, it’s the day-to-day activities that we are looking forward to the most.  John is eager to go on family walks and play at the park down the street.  Stephanie is excited to snuggle up on the couch as a family with lots of books and cuddles.

 Family Favorites
  John Stephanie
Childhood Book Corduroy The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Color Blue Turquoise
Food Steak and Baked Potato Pizza
TV Show ESPN, Friends Parenthood
Hobby Running, Golfing & Coaching Basketball Running, Golfing & Reading
Animal Dog Puppy
Sport Basketball Soccer
Season Summer Fall
Bible Verse Eph 2:8-9~ “For it is by grace you have been saved…” Phil 4:13~ “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”
 Home & Community

City Type:
Suburban-medium sized city

Years lived here:
4 years

Describe the community/Neighborhood:
We are excited to provide a Christ-centered home that is full of love and support for your child.  We live in a colonial two story home in a suburban, family friendly neighborhood that includes a school and multiple parks where all of the neighborhood kids come together to play. Living within walking distance of a small downtown and river walk allows us to enjoy nearby shops, restaurants, concerts, and bike trails—a favorite activity of our dog, Maggie.

 Adoption Preferences

Issues We Are Open to Discussing: 

  • Alcohol use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use prior to knowledge of pregnancy
  • Drug use during pregnancy
  • Alcohol use during pregnancy
  • Clinical depression in birthparents
  • Mental health issues in birthparents
  • Developmental disabilities in birthparents
  • Conceived through forced intercourse
  • Limited or no information about birthfather
  • Assist birthparents with expenses (as allowed by WI state law)

Open Adoption:

  • Ethnicity: Caucasian/Black/Asian/Hispanic/Native American/Open to any child
  • Ongoing contact: Open to all forms of contact/Letter and Photos/In-Person Visits
  • Open to states other than Wisconsin? Yes

For more information, contact adoption social worker Livy Malle at414-539-5425 or by email at

6737 W. Washington Street
Suite 2275
West Allis, WI 53214

Affiliated with

Member Of

An agency of

© 2016 Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan